Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
the major problem for me was the jello, it made the entire cake taste artificial to me. After a couple of days however the taste disappeared. I am still looking for that perfect cake with no jello made from scratch, have not yet found it though....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I own a small baking business and had a client send me this recipe to make for her. I was skeptical because of the jello but did it anyways because it is her favorite. NEVER AGAIN. The cake itself baked nicely in a Wilton shaped pan (again, client request) but then I attempted to make cupcakes out of this batter. What a MESS! They all collapsed, made a huge mess and were a complete bust. I'll go back to my own recipe for cupcakes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NathanDC
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I made this cake for our Easter dinner. It turned out terrific. I made the batter exactly as the recipe directs. It looked like a lot of batter for two cake pans, so I put it in three pans, and made a tall, beautiful 3-layer cake. I did my own take on frosting, making a little more than I normally would to accommodate the three layers. I used 1 1/2 sticks butter, 1 package of cream cheese, enough sweetened strawberry puree to give it a pretty pink color and slight strawberry flavor, and enough powdered sugar to give a stiff frosting (probably 5-6 cups). The cake is bright pink, and the light pink frosting is perfect for it. My 86-year old mom wanted a strawberry cake for Easter, and most of them start with white or "strawberry" cake mix, and I try to avoid that for special occasions. So this recipe was a blessing. I like to cook naturally, and wish there was some way to avoid the artificially flavored Jello, but I guess you can't get the intense strawberry flavor without that. Everyone loved the cake. FYI - use cake flour as directed. I made this cake once before (years ago) with all purpose flour and it was too dense. Also, to start, sift the cake flour in a big bowl. Then carefully spoon it in measuring cups to measure 2 3/4 cups. If you measure 2 3/4 cups out of the bag, then follow these sifting/measuring directions, you will find that you originally had a lot more than 2 3/4 cups flour. Again, if you don't do it right, the cake will be too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This is a great recipe. I substituted 3/4 cup of the cake flour for AP flour. I am not a fan of cakes made with all cake flour as it reminds me of a box mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mabelvale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Malvern, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
this recipe is definitely a keeper. i followed the ingredients and the method to the core and it turned out to be fabulous. for me the cake was really moist, fluffy and yummy. my family loved it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Made this for mil's birthday. The recipe made 24 cupcakes, and everyone raved about them. Good thing I took them all, some had 2 or 3. Now that is a compliment. I did use the icing recipe off of the strawberry cake using boxed cake mix...this is my husbands favorite recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I made this for my son's fourth birthday. I made a batch and a half and filled both a 10" x 10" x 2" and a 6" x 6" x 2" pan and had some left over. I made an Italian merengue buttercream to go with it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
my friend and i attempted to use this recipe and ended up with an extremely dense batter and a collapsed cake, even with the sifted flour. we were unable to use the cake at all. Pretty disappointed :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe! I made some changes. I did not have any cake flour, so I used all purpose. I'm vegetarian, so I used agar powder instead of gelatin. I reduced the sugar to 1 3/4 cup. I also used skim milk, as opposed to whole milk. It took 20 minutes in the oven, and made 36 cupcakes. Unfrosted, it's delicious with tea. Thank you; going into my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I made this cake for my best friends birthday and everyone loved it. I added a little more strawberries though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Che Che

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 728) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States