Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
my friend and i attempted to use this recipe and ended up with an extremely dense batter and a collapsed cake, even with the sifted flour. we were unable to use the cake at all. Pretty disappointed :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe! I made some changes. I did not have any cake flour, so I used all purpose. I'm vegetarian, so I used agar powder instead of gelatin. I reduced the sugar to 1 3/4 cup. I also used skim milk, as opposed to whole milk. It took 20 minutes in the oven, and made 36 cupcakes. Unfrosted, it's delicious with tea. Thank you; going into my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I made this cake for my best friends birthday and everyone loved it. I added a little more strawberries though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Che Che

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gabrielmihaly
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Taste great, just like fresh strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabrielmihaly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I SO wanted to like this cake, but nope. It didnt work. I joined AR to write a review of this cake. I was SO disappointed. I followed the reviews, used 1c sugar, sifted my flour (and used less than the recipe called for, per other reviewers, beat my egg whites to peaks, and followed the rest to a T. The three layers never really rose and the cake was so dense. Everyone said the flavor was great - "tastes like strawberry ice cream." But the texture was all wrong. The birthday boy mentioned it was probably "just cold." Bummer. On the hunt for a new strawberry cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I used this recipe to make cupcakes and everyone raved about how delicious they were! I followed the recipe exactly, and feel like it was plenty flavorful. I may try adding strawberry chunks next time :-) Thanks for a great from scratch recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
i dont recommend this recipe. i made it week ago and no ate it till now :s :s
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I have used this recipe several times and compared it to the box cake mix and making it from scratch is by far much better. I made Guava Cream Cheese Cupcakes with this recipe and it was very, very good. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
My 9 year old found this reipe and stayed in the kitchen supervising ME and we accomplished a great result. We can`t find powdered gelatine where we live so substituted with flan mix instead.Cut back by 1/2 gup of sugar too as we had extra sugar from the flan mix. Made 3 times and each time no crumbs are ever left even the cat begs for more. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This recipe worked for me, I followed it exactly the only thing I did that wasn't mentioned in the recipe is measured my flour from "sifted" flour. That means I sifted some flour and then measured out the amount of flour needed for the recipe from the flour already sifted. Came out moist and full of strawberry flavor and everyone I gave a piece to loved it! The thing I appreciate about this recipe verses other ones I've tried is that it didn't have an artificial taste to it and the strawberry flavor was pronounced very well although next time I will add a little more strawberry to bump it a little because I love strawberries but overall it's not necessary, it tasted like a fresh strawberry cake from scratch which is what I was looking for. Another thing about this cake is that it is best a day later I found the flavor came out more the next day verses the day made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon C Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 721) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States