Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I tried this reciepe for the first time this past Friday nite 1.3.14, I was bored ans since I had all the ingredients, I was like, why not! I baked a sheet cake instead, made my own vanilla frosting, it was amazinng! I let a few of my friends try it, they LOVED it!...Im rating 5 stars all the way!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This recipe is awesome! I took heed and measured the flour after sifting. My husband is in love,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shondalicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I dont normally rate recipes but I really did not like this one. I followed everything exact, and it was so dense and artificial tasting. It looked nice n pink sure but it tasted so bad. I was convinced I made a mistake so I tryed it again, extra carefully, and still has the same problem
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I would like to try this recipe. Sounds delish! But my question is: what exactly is cake flour? any specific answers would be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I'm not sure what I did wrong with this recipe, but it didn't rise in the center. I've made many cakes, and I made a white cake a couple hours before making this one that has basically the same composition and it turned out fine, this recipe just a few differences in the quantity of ingredients. The other rose and was moist and delicious, and this one is concave in the center. Also, the gelatin gives it a very fake strawberry taste, you may as well use a box mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I have made this cake twice now. I followed directions to the letter . First time I split the sugar with 1/2 splenda half sugar . The whole cake was flat, heavy. Just terrible it was barely 1 inch high. I through it out.. Next time I did use all sugar as per recipe but I had to use all purpose flour as I didn't have cake & pastry on hand . This one came out better but it was not light and fluffy it was still heavy and very dry . I cooked it at 350 just till it was done , "the tooth pick came out clean". I don't know why but I just cannot get a scratch cake to come out as soft and light as a cake mix.. This is an expensive cake to make so I don't think I will try it again.. too bad because strawberry cake is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Okay, I followed this recipe exactly and my cake was flat. I baked in 2 9in rounds. They rose and looked fluffy in the oven, but when I took them out, they got flat. The flavor was good, but was disappointed with the results. I ended up cutting the cakes and made a trifle instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I made this cake in my culinary arts cake baking and decorating class and it was a smashing success! it was just fine for me, i sifted the flour after i measured it, along with the baking powder. i put the chantilly cream on the inside two layers and creamcheese frosting on the outside. simply divine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I was really concerned at making this recipe since I live at a high altitude and was very pleasantly surprised to find it worked great! It didn't fall or anything! The only complaint I have is that it's a bit too sweet for traditional frosting and does much better with a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by virgomommy21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delta, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Excellent recipe.... Everybody loved the cake I made for a little boy's birthday
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 762) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States