Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This is my second time to make this cake. I make it using the modifications of separating the eggs and pre-sifting the cake flour before measuring, as others have mentioned. If you have clear vanilla, I'd recommend using it, as the tablespoon does darken the cake somewhat. I should have greased and floured the pans rather than using baking spray the second time--the cake tends to stick on the bottom, so it didn't come out as nicely as I would have liked. (I may try parchment next time.) Because I used a 13 x 9 x 2 pan, the baking time was longer, but no problem. We love the cake, although I would rather find a recipe without the gelatin--something about that texture in a cake bothers me, yet until I do, it will remain my go-to recipe for my husband's birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piedmont, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I loved this recipe but with the modifications as suggested by other reviewers: (1) only used 2 oz of the gelatin powder instead of three (2) DEFINITELY used cake flour and DO NOT substitute all purpose (3) separated egg yolks from whites, beat the whites and added them at the end (4) used real strawberries with some sugar to juice them up (5)used 2 teaspoons of vanilla. I made this on a Thursday night and served it the following Saturday. It was still so moist and delicious. It was for a child's birthday party and everyone loved it - kids and adults alike. I will definitely make this again but with the mentioned modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I was skeptical to try this recipe..seems like there are both good and bad reviews - however, I tried it and did what other posters suggested...cut the sugar back to 1 1/2 cups, only 2oz of geletin, and whipped the egg whites separately. I also added lemon zest. I used this recipe for cake balls, so I didn't mind the density of the cake. Crumbled it and mixed in just a little bit of strawberry frosting then dipped in dark chocolate. Tasted pretty darn close to chocolate covered strawberry! Will definitely add to my recipe box! - Bobbie W., Kansas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
The recipe is horrible. To sweet even when I half the sugar.. the cake didn't rise like the one in the photo either..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This is one of my favorite cake recipes. I have even used ths recipe to make raspberry cake, substituting anything strawberry with raspberry, so raspberry jello and raspberry purée. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisak_87
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I'm giving this recipe 4 stars because it does require some adjustments. However, with the adjustments, this recipe produces an amazing, moist, fluffy, and delicious strawberry cake! 1 - Measure the flour AFTER sifting it! It makes a huge difference! Here's what I did: I measured out 2 & 3/4 cups of cake flour & sifted it twice. I then measured 2 & 3/4 cups of the sifted flour to add to the actual cake. If you're really against sifting, lower the flour amount to 2 & 1/4 cup. 2 - Make the puree from fresh strawberries & a pinch of sugar. It's a must! 3 - Separate egg yolks & whites. Add the yolks into the batter when it tells you to "add the eggs." Beat the whites in a clean bowl until they form stiff peaks. Fold this into the batter just before pouring it into pans. 4 - Use salted butter OR add a pinch of salt to the batter if you are using unsalted butter 5 - Just a note: Make SURE that you flour your pans as the recipe tells you to! This helps the cake to "climb" (rise). I frosted this cake w/ chocolate buttercream per my brother's request. It was amazing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
So easy to make. Light and fluffy! Thanks heaps cracked my strawberry cake complex! I can make one now!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I did like the taste of this cake, but it was very dense. I also had a real problem with the baking time. I don't blame the recipe for that, though, as I was attempting to make this in a Pyrex bowl for a Princess Barbie Cake. I figured that I should double the baking time. At that point it was still not done, so I added an additional 15 minutes and the top was getting quite dark and crispy looking, so I pulled it out of the oven as it did spring back when touched. I let cool 15 minutes then tried to take it out of the bowl. Oh my! The entire thing collapsed - it was still completely raw in the middle! It made a heck of a mess. The color was nice and the outside 1/2" or so that was done tasted good. I had to throw it all away, obviously, and I made another cake using a different recipe that came out fine. I might try this again but make it in the "normal" pans to see how it comes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Very dense and gooey, followed the recipe exactly. Did not rise, more like gelatin than cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I used shortening instead of butter and I only added the egg yolks, while I whipped the egg whites into a meringue and folded them into the batter. It came out with a very nice crumb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 734) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States