Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I used this recipe to make cupcakes and everyone raved about how delicious they were! I followed the recipe exactly, and feel like it was plenty flavorful. I may try adding strawberry chunks next time :-) Thanks for a great from scratch recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
i dont recommend this recipe. i made it week ago and no ate it till now :s :s
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I have used this recipe several times and compared it to the box cake mix and making it from scratch is by far much better. I made Guava Cream Cheese Cupcakes with this recipe and it was very, very good. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
My 9 year old found this reipe and stayed in the kitchen supervising ME and we accomplished a great result. We can`t find powdered gelatine where we live so substituted with flan mix instead.Cut back by 1/2 gup of sugar too as we had extra sugar from the flan mix. Made 3 times and each time no crumbs are ever left even the cat begs for more. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This recipe worked for me, I followed it exactly the only thing I did that wasn't mentioned in the recipe is measured my flour from "sifted" flour. That means I sifted some flour and then measured out the amount of flour needed for the recipe from the flour already sifted. Came out moist and full of strawberry flavor and everyone I gave a piece to loved it! The thing I appreciate about this recipe verses other ones I've tried is that it didn't have an artificial taste to it and the strawberry flavor was pronounced very well although next time I will add a little more strawberry to bump it a little because I love strawberries but overall it's not necessary, it tasted like a fresh strawberry cake from scratch which is what I was looking for. Another thing about this cake is that it is best a day later I found the flavor came out more the next day verses the day made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I made this cake TWICE in 2 days. I made it for my son who specifically requested a strawberry cake for his birthday. I've never been that great at cake making, they always seem to come out too dense and dry. I guess I don't pick the right recipes. So with this one, I read all the reviews first and decided not to make it per the instructions and go with the reviews. I separated the eggs and beat the whites, I reduced the sugar and the flour and only used 3 eggs. The cake tasted really good, but it was the texture of dense bread! It was gross! Cake to me is supposed to be fluffy as air. Not a muffin or bread. I could tell by the batter that it was going to be dense, it was too gooey and thick..even after the egg white were stirred in. The cake ended up in the garbage. So today I made it again EXACTLY as the recipe states. I made sure the butter, milk and eggs were all room temperature. As with all baking, this is an extremely important step. I beat the butter and sugar till it was really fluffy. The addition of the eggs made it even more fluffy. Make sure strawberries are defrosted before blending. Strain seeds. I poured the batter into 2 9" rounds. It fit just fine. The cakes rose above the sides of the pan and when cooled, it shrunk just to the top of the pan, nice fat cakes! I had to cook them 5 mins longer than stated. I iced with buttercream frosting. The first slice to come out was PERFECT and I jumped for joy. MAKE THE CAKE AS INSTRUCTIONS STATE! You won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This is a delicious moist cake that doesn't last for a weekend! I followed the recipe and there's nothing dense about it. In fact it was the complete opposite. I brought one to work and my coworkers loved it and even offered to pay me to make cakes for them. The biggest test was my mom. She can find something wrong with anything and she Loved this cake. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Fabulous! I had all of the ingredients except for the strawberry puree, so I added a little extra jello mix and voila, perfection! I made them into cupcakes for my son and whipped up some vanilla frosting to top them off. I can't wait to try it with the puree next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEDGE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
What a wonderful recipe. This cake turned out amazing, I used 2 9 inch pans, next time I will use 3 8 inch instead, as the tops kind of fell. I made home made cake flour as I didn't have a box of it. This is a keeper, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina1463

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This cake had a great flavor, but yes, was extremely dense even after measuring the sifted flour and beating the egg whites separately, but I brought this to a baby shower today and got rave reviews about the flavor. I will probably make this cake again. Also, it's a WONDERFUL cake if you need to sculpt it! Dense cakes are great for that! It was not dry at all either like some people were saying. Don't over bake. Dense, but VERY moist! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 706) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States