Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
My 6 year son has been asking me to make him a strawberry cake for some time now. I found this recipe and I am so glad I did. Everyone loved it, even my picky 13 year old. I followed the recommendation to separate the egg yolks and egg whites. I first mixed the yolks with the batter and later folded in the softly whipped egg whites. Also I stirred in the flour and the milk, then I used the blender to mix in the strawberry purée. I did not use any strawberry gelatin. My cake is so moist. If I did not know better I would of thought that I used a cake mix and not cake flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
It's good. The few changes I made were as followed; I used all purpose flour because I ran out of cake flour (2 1/4 cup). I also used cherry jello mix since it was all I had left. The cake is really moist. I made the "icing" out of pudding and whipped cream. It's good, oh and last thing, I cut the sugar content to a bit less than 1 cup because I have family members who are diabetic. The jello mix and whipped topping added the rest of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I used this recipe to make Texas size cupcakes for Valentines Day. I used baking Splenda instead of sugar. I also used fresh strawberries pureed in the blender and 1% milk. The cake was moist. The texture was a tiny bit heavy, probably because of the gelatin. Maybe strawberry koolaid would be better? For cupcakes it was not a problem. If using for cupcakes the tops raise to a nice very slightly rounded top which is perfect for icing. I would suggest using clear vanilla because the dark color muddied up the red and I had to use a little red food color to get it back to red-red. An idea would be to make mini-cupcakes and put one of those large specialty chocolate chips in the middle of each one, if you like that flavor combo, then drizzle the tops with melted chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elgin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I goofed! My gelatin was hard when I opened the package and I'm not sure if it absorbed ok. I tried to break it up. I only had 2% milk on me. Should the puréed strawberries been strained first after defrosting? The cake looked real pretty but it was very dry. Very disappointed. If anybody has an idea why I would love to know. It was for our 9 year olds bday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aussiemumto3
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I made this for my daughters birthday yesterday. It is amazing!!!!! I love how dense and moist it is. Everybody loved it. Best strawberry recipe I've come across so far and will definitely be archiving this one. Thanks so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Seriously good recipe, I made cupcakes and the crumb was perfect! Flavor is great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TrinaLillian
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I added a little bit of vegetable oil to make it moist...this recipe is A1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I have been baking cakes for 40 years and the scratch strawberry cake really caught my eye. I read all the reviews and with all the reviews of this cake being too dense, I don't get it. This cake was fantastic. I make all the birthday cakes for our entire business and some said this was my best cake of all I had made and believe me I have made a lot of cakes. I put puree between each layer and semi froze the layers then iced them. I did make three layers and this cake was beautiful. I put strawberries on top and served puree with each slice. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kings Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This tasted better than I thought it would when I mixed it and put it into the oven, but it still wasn't anything to get excited about. First, the color was an awful pinkish gray. I really wished I had some food coloring to make it a little more pink or red. After it was baked, I found the strawberry flavor to be so subtle that it was almost not there. I also wished I had used a little more leavening in order to get more rise. The only thing that I like about this instead of simply making a boxed mix was that it has a lot less artificial flavorings and preservatives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
The foundation of a really good cake is here but it would have been very dense indeed had I not read the reviews and done some tweeking of my own. I followed the advice of separating the eggs and whipping the whites. I also reduced the flour to 2 1/2 cups, omitted the vanilla, and used 3/4 cup of strawberry puree versus 1/2 a cup. After making these changes I had a light cake with excellent strawberry flavor, but doesn't taste artificial like a lot of strawberry cakes do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 753) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States