Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Very dense and gooey, followed the recipe exactly. Did not rise, more like gelatin than cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I used shortening instead of butter and I only added the egg yolks, while I whipped the egg whites into a meringue and folded them into the batter. It came out with a very nice crumb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
LOVED IT!! My husband's favorite cake is Strawberry cake and for the longest I have been wanting to make him a strawberry cake from scratch, so when I found this one I wanted to try it. It came out wonderful. NO MORE BOXES FOR ME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D_GOODEN
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I made this and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I made this recipe tonight. Love it!!!! The directions were easy to follow. The cake made my house smell yummy. Plus it taste amazing:) Saved this recipe:) I definitly will be making it again. Thank you for sharing it:) Laura
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Guynup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Great recipes cakes came out nice and fluffy. I however read other reviews that said too much jello was used so I used less and heavy cream instead. Delicious. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Dont know what i did but i hated this cake. It was dry and very dense. Will not try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sonalikj
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
hi, Made this cake yesterday for my friends daughter's 2nd birthday.It came out great.Everybody loved it. I followed the instructions carefully.The Jelly adds the punch to the cake. Could do with a little more of it.IIf this cake had only fresh strawberry puree,then it would not have got the strawberry flavour.I used whipped cream strawberry icing in between the layers and buttercream icing with a little of the strawberry jelly for piping the icing on the cake and it went well with it.I have attached a picture of the cake.Fantastic cake.Will keep making it.Thank you very much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
the major problem for me was the jello, it made the entire cake taste artificial to me. After a couple of days however the taste disappeared. I am still looking for that perfect cake with no jello made from scratch, have not yet found it though....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I own a small baking business and had a client send me this recipe to make for her. I was skeptical because of the jello but did it anyways because it is her favorite. NEVER AGAIN. The cake itself baked nicely in a Wilton shaped pan (again, client request) but then I attempted to make cupcakes out of this batter. What a MESS! They all collapsed, made a huge mess and were a complete bust. I'll go back to my own recipe for cupcakes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 706) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States