Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2015
ALL I CAN DO IS CRY. I JUST MADE THIS FOR MY BFS 30TH BIRTHDAY TODAY AND IT IS AWFUL. IT WAS LIKE GLUE. BOUGHT EVERYTHING EXACTLY NEEDED, DID THE RECIPE AS DIRECTED AND IT'S HORRIBLE. NEVER WILL I EVER MADE THUS JUNK AGAIN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2015
Very disappointed by this recipe. The taste was fantastic, but the texture was a bit hard and dry. I sifted my CAKE flour, beat my egg whites to soft peaks separate, scaled back a bit on sugar, and baked in three 9" round pans. I thought I was set up for success after so many recommended those changes. Everyone thought it tasted good, but the texture was not fluffy. I used cream cheese frosting that paired well and put strawberry puree (fresh strawberries) between the layers that I thickened up with cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
I have made this recipe quite a few times. I really like it, however I do think it is a little too sweet. (Who knew such a thing existed) but I think the sweetness overpowers the strawberry flavor. Maybe try 1.5 C sugar instead of 2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
This cake turned out beautiful and delicious! I added 2 tbls. of vinegar to my milk, cut back the baking powder to 2tsp. and added 1/2 tsp of baking soda. Cut each layer in half and filled with a homemade strawberry filling, then frosted with cream cheese frosting and decorated with designs from a pink sugar sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katie Tipton
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
I did not care for this recipe. I've baked my whole life. The batter looked fabulous. I was confident they'd be delicious. Boy, was I wrong. I made them into cupcakes, they all sunk in in the middle. The finished product was not fluffy. They looked unappealing, nothing I could bring to a party. I thought they may still taste good and could be enjoyed at home. Nope. I remade the batter and this time folded in the egg whites at the end. Same result. Same consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Tipton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
So dense and lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
It took mine a little longer than 30 minutes to bake, but it tasted great with whipped cream cheese icing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
This review is for Benc: I feel for ya honey. Here is what I "think" went wrong for you. Once you begin to very, VERY gently fold in your egg whites with a rubber spatula, bone dry (the spatula) you must stop after folding just about 3 or 5 turns. It will NEVER look incorporated, the whole idea of beating the egg white separately, which must also be done with clean and bone dry beaters!!!! Is to give the cake "lift" if you try to over incorporate, the whole thing will fall flat. OOPS, but it's happened to us all, so don't beat yourself up. Beating and folding in egg whites is a tricky thing and it's best if you can watch a professional video of it being done if you are a first timer. I was and had the same trouble some years back, my dear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Made this in a 13/9inch pan and it was amazing .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cayrae
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
Love this cake recipe....so easy to make...Perfect for baby girl showers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 763) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States