Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
So dense and lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
It took mine a little longer than 30 minutes to bake, but it tasted great with whipped cream cheese icing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
This review is for Benc: I feel for ya honey. Here is what I "think" went wrong for you. Once you begin to very, VERY gently fold in your egg whites with a rubber spatula, bone dry (the spatula) you must stop after folding just about 3 or 5 turns. It will NEVER look incorporated, the whole idea of beating the egg white separately, which must also be done with clean and bone dry beaters!!!! Is to give the cake "lift" if you try to over incorporate, the whole thing will fall flat. OOPS, but it's happened to us all, so don't beat yourself up. Beating and folding in egg whites is a tricky thing and it's best if you can watch a professional video of it being done if you are a first timer. I was and had the same trouble some years back, my dear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Made this in a 13/9inch pan and it was amazing .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cayrae
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
Love this cake recipe....so easy to make...Perfect for baby girl showers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
I loved this recipe the first time I made it and I make it again and again on dorm for the girls who don't like chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abigail Siders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
I made this cake for my daughter's first birthday last year and it was a hit with my very large family. It was dense and delicious. I made it into a tiered cake with buttercream frosting and covered in fondant. I am going to use this recipe again to make cake pops for my nieces upcoming wedding shower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kendra Wright
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
So yummy. I made it for mothers day and everyone loved it. I couldn't get the density exactly right but it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
The only change I made was to separate the yolk and egg whites. I put the egg whites in at the end. The cake is delicious and I will be adding this to my book if recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
I made this cake for my sister's birthday party and everyone thought it was yummy. It was worth the work to make it and I thought it was very girly and fun. The only thing I didn't do that the recipe said was to strain the seeds out of the puree. It was a lot of work to make sure there wasn't any seeds in the puree so I gave up and put the puree in the batter seeds and all. It was easier and I didn't notice any seeds in the finished cake. Overall a great recipe that's great for girly-girls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 759) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States