Strawberry Cake and Frosting II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I'm rating the frosting on this recipe, since it was all I used. The flavor was amazing, it actually tasted like real strawberry. I left out the coconut and used about three cups of sugar. You don't have to use the full four cups unless you want it to be thicker, I would suggest adding the sugar gradually until you get the texture that you need. Since it seemed a little runny at first, I let it chill for 20 minutes, and it worked just fine to frost a layer cake. I also used butter instead of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Made the cake according to the recipe except that I added a half cup of cream cheese to the icing. It was too sweet for my taste without it. That is also why I gave it 4 stars but will for sure make this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Foxfire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seguin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I made this cake to take to my grandmothers for dinner and there is barely any left! I made the cake exactly as directed except I left out the nuts and frosted with coolwhip and topped with sliced strawberries and toasted coconut. The cake was so moist and even my picky husband came home and had seconds. I'll definitely make this cake again and I even passed it along to my grandmother. Thank you for the great recipe. Exactly what we were looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Yummy! Very simple to make and simply delicious. My family loved it and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I made this cake exactly by the recipe for Easter dinner. I did frost it differently. used a tub of coolwhip and then fresh cut strawberries with melted choc drizzled over top. Absolutely wonderfu! They devowered it! I am just not a fan of sticky frosting. I also read a review that this cake recipe can be used as a breakfast cake! Absolutely!!! wonderful cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Geneva, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
We loved it. Makes your ears pop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HYICINTH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I thought this would be so good and I bake all the time. I will never make it again. I think the problem was too much oil, way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
The strawberry cake was awesome. The only reason that I gave this recipe a 4/5 was I found the icing too sweet so I added more strawberries. It got rave reviews from my in-laws!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Con C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Norway, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I didn't use the frosting that was suggested, but the cake was amazing. I made the batter just as suggested in two round pans for a layered cake. I put raspberry preserves between the layers, because I didn't have strawberry. It was delicious. I topped the cake with cream cheese icing and decorated it for my Father-in-law's birthday... strawberry is his favorite. We all thought it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Review for the cake only. The previous reviews caused me to not make the frosting. The cake is moist, sweet and flavorful enough that I didn't think it really needed icing. Served with whipped cream and a few fresh berries. Followed cake recipe except did not include the nuts. It seemed that everyone liked it (it was eaten) but no real excitement or requests for the recipe this time. Enjoyed trying a new recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States