Strawberry Cake and Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2000
This is a fabulous recipe. Once I served it at a party, all my friends wanted the recipe. It is now the cake that can be found at every party on the block!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2000
It was a lovely cake with fresh flavor of strawberries. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2001
I served this cake for my sons birthday. Everyone loved it but, I did have to use a different frosting because I made this one twice and couldn't get it to turn out?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2001
This cake is addicting! I made it for my son's birthday party and it was gone in a matter of minutes. I don't care for strawberry but, I loved this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2001
It is an excellent cake! It was an all around hit on July 4th. I decided to make a small change and bake the cake from scratch as opposed to the mix. Also, frosting is easier when you melt the butter a bit first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
The cake was great but, I couldn't get the icing to turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2001
This cake tasted really good, but the icing was very runny. Unfortunately, I did not have an extra box of confectioner's sugar on hand to thicken it. But, even though the cake wasn't very pretty, it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
The cake was very moist and delicious. However, the frosting was strange. I added more confectioner's sugar and it become TOO SWEET........ I'd make it again.......only have another frosting for back up........maybe melting the butter like suggested previously........ My daughter (9) loved it, as I put a Tweety edible applique on it...........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
moist cake, frosting turned out runny, suggest that you use a butter cream frosting. Cake is great to eat without frosting anyway. you will enjoy either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
This cake gets raves from everyone, especially my kids, even the one who hates strawberries! Best the second day. Everyone is puzzled by the frosting. The trick is to first DRAIN the strawberries in a sieve over a bowl, and SAVE the juice. Use the strawberries as directed; the frosting will not be runny. Add a little cornstarch to the saved strawberry juice, microwave until thickened to a medium gel consistency, then drizzle over the cake and refrigerate. It dresses up the cake! This works in a 9" X 13" pan, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim*designer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States