Strawberry Cake and Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Excellent, excellent! And I’m so glad about it since the strawberry cupcakes I made last week were such a bust. What a difference! Everything’s right this time – the texture and crumb is right, the shape is right and, most of all, the flavor is right! They’re delicious! I used a quart bag of whole strawberries I had previously frozen. Once they were thawed I pureed them and measured out 6 ozs. for the cake, which turned out to be a little better than 2/3 cup. The remaining puree I reduced (to concentrate the flavor) in a small saucepan over medium low heat. I used a white cake mix; I like the flavor better than yellow (less cake mix-y tasting for some reason) and I also wanted a truer pink color – didn’t want to try and work around the yellow. I wanted a very distinct strawberry flavor, so I also added in a teaspoon of strawberry extract. I beat the batter TWO minutes, NOT four, following the instructions on the package. I made this as cupcakes, and baked them 21 minutes. For the frosting: 1/2 cup each of butter and hi-ratio shortening, 1/2 tsp. strawberry extract, a pinch of salt, 4 c. powdered sugar and enough of the reduced strawberry puree to achieve the desired consistency for piping, about 4 tablespoons. I beat it on low speed of my stand mixer for 10 minutes. The flavor and consistency reminded me of strawberry ice cream – just delicious. I have to admit I was not expecting to like these cupcakes as much as I did. It was a happy surprise today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Super yummy & moist! I made these for a fundraiser at my husbands work and they went FAST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi668

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Great recipe. Cupcakes were moist and baked in just under 20 minutes. Next time, I'll probably add more strawberries to the cake batter. I used a little more than 1/2 of a small tub of sliced strawberries and drained most of the syrup they were packed in...I didn't want them to turn out too sweet. To offset the sweetness of the frosting, I added the zest of a lemon and it turned out DELICIOUS. Thanks for the recipe, Imfliper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This cake was good but not quite as strawberry tasting as I had hoped. I have made it twice. Second go around - added two layers of fresh sliced strawberries resting on a thin layer of frosting. The fresh strawberries helped me get more of the strawberry flavor that I was hoping to find. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seattlejoanie
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I just used the frosting recipe for cupcakes I was making and the frosting is really DIVINE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
i just made the frosting part of this recipe without reading the reviews, so it did end up being pretty runny. to thicken it up, i added some whipped heavy cream (w/vanilla, but no sugar) to the original frosting until it was no longer runny and more "frosting" like. it was SO delicious and my 4 yr old daughter & husband (who usually doesn't like frosting) loved it! :) so even though i probably couldn't have used the original frosting since i didn't drain it first, the end result was great and had a very nice strawberry flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by obilir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Easy to make. Really moist and delicious. I didn't need the frosting as it tasted very good without it, especially the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This is a rating for the frosting only since I didn't make these cupcakes. The frosting was little runny and I used fresh strawberries but the taste was really good. So next time I'll adjust the strawberry juice and sugar ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This was just okay. The frosting is way too sweet. Will probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Berggren Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
AMAZING! Used freshly picked Oregon strawberries straight off the farm. I am taking them to an Independence Day potluck and I will be surprised if there are any left by the time the fireworks begin. Thank you for such a simple but outstanding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States