Strawberry Cake and Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2001
It is an excellent cake! It was an all around hit on July 4th. I decided to make a small change and bake the cake from scratch as opposed to the mix. Also, frosting is easier when you melt the butter a bit first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
This cake is awesome! made it for a bridal shower and decorated it with meringue daisies with lemon curd centers! It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REINEJESSICA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2001
This cake is addicting! I made it for my son's birthday party and it was gone in a matter of minutes. I don't care for strawberry but, I loved this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
This cake gets raves from everyone, especially my kids, even the one who hates strawberries! Best the second day. Everyone is puzzled by the frosting. The trick is to first DRAIN the strawberries in a sieve over a bowl, and SAVE the juice. Use the strawberries as directed; the frosting will not be runny. Add a little cornstarch to the saved strawberry juice, microwave until thickened to a medium gel consistency, then drizzle over the cake and refrigerate. It dresses up the cake! This works in a 9" X 13" pan, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim*designer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
First off let me say that although this recipe gets rave reviews I was still very shocked at the wonderful flavor never having had a fresh strawberry cake not made from a mix. Which the strawberry cake mixes are just awful. Now on to my review. I am a recent graduate of culinary school in Baking and Pastry So I am used to making icings. However I paid close attention to the hints given for this icing as most said that it was to runny. I actually made this for a cake ordered for a customer who wanted it for a birthday cake. So for the icing I followed the hint and drained the strawberrys I also pureeed them through a thin strainer with an old fashion mashed potato masher. I then drained the puree somewhat on paper towels. This did leave a need for moisture which I filled with a few tbls of both water and strawberry juice. You dont need to drain but I wanted to be able to control the amount of moisture eventually adding a few tbls of milk as well to give it a creamy texture. I believe the recipe calls for 4 3/4 cps of powder sugar. I actually used almost a 2 lb bag. which was a little over 7 cups. With the addition of the liquid it turned out great of course this made a cup or so more icing then needed. I did end up with a flat icing which is what I was looking for. If I would have omited some of the sugar and added a little more milk this would have made a very creamy homestyle frosting. The reason that I focused so much on the icing is because most people said that they coul
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
This is the most fantastic cake I've ever eaten! I could eat the frosting by itself all day! It's a wonderful dessert for those who like a little texture in their dessert (nuts, coconut). I didn't have any trouble with frosting consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
Excellent Cake Mix Doctor-type recipe. Frosting was good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This was exactly what I was looking for! The colour is wonderful and the taste is delicious. I did not make the frosting though. I put whipped cream and fresh cut strawberries in between each layer and topped it all off with more whipped cream and strawberries. I am considering something like this for my wedding reception!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SU-LI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Stephen, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
This is my father-in-laws recipe and we came out to the site to see if people loved it as much as we do. When we saw the issues with the frosting, we realized what we neglected to state in the recipe. We drain most of the juice from the strawberries into the cake, thus not having all that juice in the frosting. This way the frosting is not so runny. Sorry for the mistake... hope you continue to enjoy this. And to the person who said they could just eat the frosting... my brother-in-law does just that with vanilla ice cream. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Delicious! Only thing I did different was to use fresh strawberries instead of frozen. This cake turned out wonderful. Would definately make again and the other reviewers are right...you could just eat the icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States