Strawberry Cake and Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I have made this several times... and I usually have to add more powdered sugar to the frosting... but always a huge hit with all parties involved. This past time my boyfriend made me save the leftover frosting in his refrigerator so he could eat it plain!! Weirdo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by al

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This cake was excellent! I did not measure the powdered sugar, just added until it was the right consistency for spreading. Make sure to let the cakes cool enough before frosting them. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Absolutely Awesome!!!!! Made this cake for to take to the office. Everyone raved over how moist and delicious it was. Just the right amount of strawberry flavoring without being overpowering. Apparently, in an effort to make sure the icing was not too runny, I drained the strawberries too much and had to add juice to make it spreadable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I made cupcakes with this recipe, and they were awesome. Everyone at work loved them. My frosting was not runny at all. In fact, I had to add 1tbsp of milk to cream the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NatalieAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Starkville, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
The frosting from this recipe paired greatly with the scratch strawberry cake recipe. I used fresh strawberries instead of frozen. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
I made the cake today and it was very good & moist. I tried another strawberry cake recipe from this site and this one was much better. The only change I made was let the gelatin dissolve with ½ cup water before adding the other ingredient and I used store brought vanilla icing. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
I have to be honest---I haven't made the cake yet, but I was looking for a good strawberry frosting, and I've found it! I guess you could say I'm an "old pro" at making frosting--I NEVER use canned---yucky! This frosting is very tasty, and just what I wanted for my cake. Might I suggest to others that, if the frosting is too soft, then add more powdered sugar until you get a tighter consistency---it does not compromise the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I made this recipe today and it turned out really well. I didn't make the frosting but instead used a cream cheese icing recipe from this website. I was really pleased with the cake and would consider making it again but might would try a different one, as it wasn't amazing. But pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I guess I'm a beginner at frostings. I never know when the consistency is right when in the bowl. This recipe I had to refrigerate in the middle of frosting the cake because it started to melt. I don't know if it was the two teaspoons of half and half I put in to make the recipe "creamy" according to some suggestions or because I live in Florida and it was 82 degrees in the house. It started off okay with the in between layers but then seemed to "melt" when applying the top coat. Tastes good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ursulaj.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weston, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This was really good. I did make a few changes. I only used half of the jello that the recipe called for and I used 4 oz. cream cheese and 1/2 stick of butter to make my frosting. I also baked this in a sheet cake pan. I will definitly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States