Strawberry Cake and Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
The cake was great but the icing was too sweet. I added more strawberries and then it was too runny. However still tasted great and my 2 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Con C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Norway, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
The frosting was great but the cake seemed more like a muffin to me. They were good, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Los Lunas, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blazer
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Followed other reviews and pureed the strawberries in my food processor. Very easy to make. I did not use the frosting on this recipe. I tried the Fluffy White Frosting which almost tastes like a marshmallow frosting and I added a little strawberry extract. Very tasty. Should be made the day before serving, much more flavor the 2nd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This is my daughter's favorite cake! I have been making it for years but misplaced my recipe in our move. I find pureeing the berries makes this recipe fail-proof! Much easier than draining all the good juice off! I use 2/3 cup in the cake recipe. The pureed berries works great in the frosting too. Just beat butter until fluffy and add powdered sugar and berries alternately until the frosting is the consistency you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEREDITHRS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
The cake would be good plain, or with some whipped topping. The frosting was a bit runny, I added an extra 1/8 cup of powdered sugar and that did thicken it up a bit, but it still wasn't the right consistency for a cake. I also divided this between two cake pans, vs three and baked an extra five miutes. Used a white cake mix. -- I am updating from 4 to 5 stars. After I frosted the cake, I put it in the fridge, and once it was cold, it was soooo good. Next time I will make the frosting, then let it set in the fridge while the cake is cooling so it will thicken some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I used the frosting from this recipe on a simple white cake that I made for my baby girls 9th birthday. I read all the reviews and took notes from all of them mainly on being sure to drain the strawberries and save the juice to add to the frosting as needed. I to mashed the strawberries before adding them.I made a rather large cake so I doubled the recipe. It was SO GOOD.. my daughter and EVERYONE loved that cake& RAVED about the FROSTING. The frosting is SUPER SWEET.. but so fresh smelling and delicious. I have enough frosting left over so I will be making another cake...as well as using this recipe OVER and OVER again...THANK YOU so much for this~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Octoberslibra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
These were very good. Will make them again. I made a strawberry cream cheese icing to go on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tuckerlucydog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
**This review is only for the frosting** I made this frosting after having drained the strawberries, but it was still quite runny (not a big deal - I just kept the cake in the frig). More importantly, though, it was WAY too sweet. My guests made funny jokes about the sweetness, but when I tasted it, I knew they weren't just kidding -- I had to scrape off most of the frosting in order to eat my cake without gagging. I make frosting regularly, so I'm not sure what would have made this so sweet except that strawberries are a naturally sweet fruit. Maybe some fresh lemon juice would help balance out the super-sweetness...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
The best strawberry cake I've ever tasted! I made this for dessert for our Father's Day dinner and the whole family was RAVING about this cake! My sister is getting married and this is going to be one of the layers of her cake. I followed the original recipe and also used the flollow up tips that the owner of this recipe later posted and the cake turned out PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Great flavor and wonderful reviews! I made these cupcakes for my nieces 4th birthday and we called them pink princess cupcakes! Not only did the kids love them but the adults were mowing through the cupcakes! I followed the reviews on making the frosting not so runny but in the end the only thing that helped was putting the frosting in the freezer for a short time. THe frosting was still runny but it didn't really matter because it tasted soooo good. I can't wait to make these for the next birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinqueen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States