Strawberry Cake and Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Great recipe. Was moist & you could taste the strawberries. Made it for daughter's birthday, she loved it. Frosted with strawberry cream cheese icing. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wycoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I made this cake for Thanksgiving my family and I loved it! The flavor was perfect and it smelled delicious. Instead of cupcakes I made a bundt cake, which should be cooked for a hour instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I used only the cake recipe to make strawberry cupcakes, which were really very good, then filled with a lemon curd and iced with lemonade icing for a "Strawberry Lemonade Cupcake" theory. It was amazing, as the original recipe that I had just called for strawberry cake mix ... which has no flavor. With this recipe, the strawberry stood up to the icing, which was key to success. They got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I made this for a family birthday and was very pleased with how it turned out. I used white cake mix and a 14 oz pkg of frozen strawberries that did not have any type of syrup. The cake was really moist and a very pretty pink color. By itself it did not have much of a strawberry flavor. I baked it in a 13X9 pan. I made 1/2 batch of the frosting, draining the juice from the strawberries. Everyone loved the strawberry flavor off the frosting and the little bits of fruit in it. The consistency was fine to work with for a 13X9 but maybe a little thin to do a layer cake. I would love to try this recipe in a bundt pan and make the frosting thin enough to drizzle down the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I liked the recipe and baked about 15 cupcakes and a small cake for my son's birthday. The icing was too runny, but it tasted really good as he loves strawberries a lot. The yellow cake mix was a moist cake, so that helped with the moistness of it overall. I refrigerated the cupcakes to keep the icing from melting more and it was very sweet. I started to use fresh strawberries but the batch I bought were not that sweet so I used frozen instead, but I wish I had thawed them first as it was difficult to blend them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Minors

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Washington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
These were amazing. Made them the night before the party and they were perfect, followed the suggestions for the frosting and it was excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This has been my strawberry cake recipe for many years. The smaller box of cake mix (16.5 oz) didn't seem to make a difference unless it was that the three layers were very thin. (I usually make just 2) Since they don't sell 10 oz. of frozen sweetened strawberries anymore, I bought 16 oz. and weighed out 5 oz. of strawberries and juice for the cake batter. Then I drained the remainder very well, reserving the juice. I added all the left-over strawberries to the frosting and added a little juice at a time alternately with the confectioner's sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I only used the icing recipe on this, as I used the strawberry cake from scratch recipe for the cake. Delicious. I used this to ice cupcakes, I made 24cupcakes and there was plenty of icing left over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This recipe is so good! We are a gluten-free family so we use the gluten-free cake mix and flour. The frosting is wonderful and we use it for a fruit dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamsy10
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I love the cake and have gotten rave reviews of it! I thought the frosting tasted good but it was very runny (even after draining the strawberries and adding extra powdered sugar) and it didn't look very pretty because of the strawberry seeds. I needed something a little stiffer and more uniform looking for a birthday cake so I used a basic buttercream icing and added a little strawberry extract and I preferred that to the frosting listed here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States