Strawberry Cake and Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I made this recipe today and it turned out really well. I didn't make the frosting but instead used a cream cheese icing recipe from this website. I was really pleased with the cake and would consider making it again but might would try a different one, as it wasn't amazing. But pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I guess I'm a beginner at frostings. I never know when the consistency is right when in the bowl. This recipe I had to refrigerate in the middle of frosting the cake because it started to melt. I don't know if it was the two teaspoons of half and half I put in to make the recipe "creamy" according to some suggestions or because I live in Florida and it was 82 degrees in the house. It started off okay with the in between layers but then seemed to "melt" when applying the top coat. Tastes good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ursulaj.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weston, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This was really good. I did make a few changes. I only used half of the jello that the recipe called for and I used 4 oz. cream cheese and 1/2 stick of butter to make my frosting. I also baked this in a sheet cake pan. I will definitly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I want to give it 4.8 stars. The .2 that I can't give the recipe is because I have a mental block - if I am going bake a cake, it needs to be from scratch - and this uses the boxed cake mix. Aside from that, I love this recipe. It reminds me of birthday parties from childhood, and a taste of this cake is exactly what you need for reminiscing! If you aren't concerned with presentation, do yourself a favor and do the 9 by 13 pan - it is easier and then you don't need to worry about frosting the sides of a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
OMG I'd give this 10 stars! I'm not much of a baker, but this was fabulous! I got compliments for two days. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This was really good cake and really yummy frosting. I followed everyones advice and drained my berry juice so my frosting would be of better consistency. I will definetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
The cake was fine but the frosting was runny. I even stuck it in the freezer to see if it would thicken. But since I was serving this for a surprise birthday party - I had to get it going and fast. SO, I added heavy whipping cream, more confectioners sugar AND cream cheese. ABSOLUTELY Marvelous! Once it draped over the cake it looked so cute and yummy. Definitely spread between each cake...I forgot that part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
This was pretty good. It was unnaturally pink, though. If I try it again, I may use something to replace the strawberry gelatin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I thought this was good but a little too sweet. I felt that the frosting was a little much. I think it would have been better to use vanilla frosting instead of strawberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
This recipe was really great. I added a little milk and vanilla to the frosting to make it a little creamier and such and it was just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States