Strawberry Cake and Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Sara
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I've made a lot of different cupcakes, but I truly think that these are the best ones I've ever made. The light, moist strawberry cake combined with the sweet, creamy strawberry frosting is AMAZING. I am seriously addicted to these. A few notes: I used a 13 oz bag of frozen strawberries (thawed and drained) since that was all I could find, and I think it worked perfectly... you can never have too many strawberries! Also, I took others' advice and used an entire 2 lb bag of powdered sugar for the frosting. I had a lot left over, but the taste and consistency were great. I was able to make 43 cupcakes with this recipe. They baked at 350 for 23 minutes. Thanks for an outstanding recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
These are fabulous, WAY better than box strawberry cake and frosting! *UPDATE* For the frosting, reduce the amount of powdered sugar by almost half and add in 8 oz. of cream cheese, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Very good recipe!I dont usually do much with box mixes but thought i would give this one a try and my kids loved them.Will make again :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Gorgeous cake! I made this cake for my mother-in-law's birthday and it was fantastic. The only change I made was to fill it with a strawberry glaze made from the remainder of the berries and top it with whipped cream instead of the frosting for a lighter version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Steubenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lyndhurst, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I'm only reviewing the cake, not the frosting because I didn't make it - the cake was good - moist and flavorful - I used more strawberries than what was called for but I think that just added to the yumminess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This recipe makes your kitchen smell wonderful! The cake is very moist and sweet. One suggested alternative (since the cake is already so tasty on its own and does not need much more help from the frosting): add a layer of frosting only in between the cake layers, then top with a dusting of powdered sugar and fresh strawberries- light and not too overpoweringly sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
fantastic! and easy!!! the icing gets thin. make sure to squeeze excess liquid out of strawberries and add powdered sugar if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
My husband is convinced that I am "out to get him fat" he can't stop eating this cake! I am pretty sure that two nine inch pans would've sufficed. Also, I mixed a can of white frosting into the icing mixture (I didn't have four cups of confectionary sugar) This is a really nice cake!! I can't wait to share the recipe with my mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDOWNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
We really loved this recipe, which I used to make cupcakes. The frosting was too sweet for us, so I doubled the amount of butter and added a little vanilla. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This was really good--I found the poster's daughter's review making a correction to the recipe and I followed that: putting half the strawberries but ALL the juice into the cake. That leaves just half the strawberries for the frosting. I was lazy and this wasn't for any special occasion so I made it in a 9x13 pan. I had to cook it longer to get the center cooked through and that made the ends of the cake not really moist. So I was initially disappointed. But getting beyond the first row of cake, it was outstanding. On the frosting, I started with the butter and strawberries and just two cups of sugar in, it looked like a frosting consistency. I worried that adding more sugar would present an issue with then needing some type of liquid to make a spreading consistency so I stopped at two cups sugar. It was super and there was plenty of it for a 9x13. Definitely will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States