Strawberry Cake and Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. It was so yummy. As others, I had a difficulty getting the right consistency. None the less, a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
The cake was very good. I poured it into a bundt pan instead of making a layer cake. So I didn't make the frosting. I made a buttermilk glaze instead, and garnished the top with some fresh strawberries cut in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This was pretty good. I'm usually against any recipe that starts off with a box mix - but I needed a strawberry cake for a friend's birthday. I made two cakes, only frosting one. Personally, I think it was better without. I used fresh strawberries instead of frozen-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Better than box strawberry cakes but somehow lacking. It was very rich and very thick and very large - over powering. I would have preferred this cake to be light and fluffy with a fresh strawberry taste. Not so. I was actually disappointed because my husband is obsessed with strawberry cake but only had it from a box so I thought I'd surprise him with the real deal and of course he appreciated the gesture but hardly ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I used cream cheese frosting instead of the frosting in the recipe, but the cake was beyond tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachas6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santiago De Compostela, Galicia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
It was tough reviewing this recipe with the stars. I made this and took it to a party (used this strawberry cream cheese frosting--I took Cream cheese Frosting II by Janni and added 10 crushed strawberries to it--it was runny, but refrigerating the cake before serving took care of that problem). I didn't like it at all. I thought the cake was artificial tasting. However, I got tons of compliments from people at the party--they loved the cake. I won't make it again, unless someone asks for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by babybaker
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I only made the frosting and I definitely found it to be runny as well, but the flavor was incredible! I ended up adding 1tsp of cream of tartar to thicken the frosting and then put the cupcakes in the fridge. That seemed to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
If I could give this 3-1/2 stars I would, but I'll give it 4 because the frosting is excellent. Unfortunately, the cake doesn't have enough strawberry flavor. This is one of those cakes that gets most of its flavor from the frosting. I'll keep the frosting recipe, but keep looking for a cake recipe that uses all strawberries, and perhaps no strawberry gelatin or cake mix. I'm looking for a fresher strawberry taste. If you're absolutely dedicated to high quality ingredients and making cakes from scratch, you won't really be impressed. People who don't analyze every bite will be happy, though. Read the tips in the other reviews - a 9x13 pan works fine, and you want to put more of the fruit pulp in the frosting, and more of the juice in the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
So good! I have a very big sweet tooth. I didn't think the cake was overly sweet. The icing is very sweet but I thought it was the perfect balance. Perfect recipe to replace ever using a strawberry cake mix agian. I think it would be good with cream cheese icing also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Came out flat and dense in a layered cake after being fridged for a day. I liked the strawberry cake II recipe better, baked into cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States