Strawberry Cake and Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
so amazingly good. i used fresh strawberries, half in muffins, half in frosting. so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Awesome recipe. I modified it slightly for my taste. I used sugar free jello and in some cupcakes I put in walnuts or pecans (couldn't decide but in the end I think I prefer walnuts). I tried to do the frosting but used a combo of splenda and confectioners sugar and it didn't work out. Too sweet for me - and it was that processed tasting sweet so that wasn't good. Personally the cake is moist enough and can be eaten alone. I'm not big on frosting anyway so I wasn't too upset. For those that are, and for appearances I just sprinkled some powdered sugar on top of some cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corymia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sara
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I've made a lot of different cupcakes, but I truly think that these are the best ones I've ever made. The light, moist strawberry cake combined with the sweet, creamy strawberry frosting is AMAZING. I am seriously addicted to these. A few notes: I used a 13 oz bag of frozen strawberries (thawed and drained) since that was all I could find, and I think it worked perfectly... you can never have too many strawberries! Also, I took others' advice and used an entire 2 lb bag of powdered sugar for the frosting. I had a lot left over, but the taste and consistency were great. I was able to make 43 cupcakes with this recipe. They baked at 350 for 23 minutes. Thanks for an outstanding recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Tricia Jaeger
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
These are fabulous! I wasn't so sure at first as the frosting seemed kind of pasty but they were much better the second day. I wasn't quite sure of the kind of strawberry the recipe called for so I used sweetened, sliced strawberries, thawed, then pureed them in the food processor. WAY better than box strawberry cake and frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Very good recipe!I dont usually do much with box mixes but thought i would give this one a try and my kids loved them.Will make again :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Gorgeous cake! I made this cake for my mother-in-law's birthday and it was fantastic. The only change I made was to fill it with a strawberry glaze made from the remainder of the berries and top it with whipped cream instead of the frosting for a lighter version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Steubenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lyndhurst, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I'm only reviewing the cake, not the frosting because I didn't make it - the cake was good - moist and flavorful - I used more strawberries than what was called for but I think that just added to the yumminess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This recipe makes your kitchen smell wonderful! The cake is very moist and sweet. One suggested alternative (since the cake is already so tasty on its own and does not need much more help from the frosting): add a layer of frosting only in between the cake layers, then top with a dusting of powdered sugar and fresh strawberries- light and not too overpoweringly sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
fantastic! and easy!!! the icing gets thin. make sure to squeeze excess liquid out of strawberries and add powdered sugar if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
My husband is convinced that I am "out to get him fat" he can't stop eating this cake! I am pretty sure that two nine inch pans would've sufficed. Also, I mixed a can of white frosting into the icing mixture (I didn't have four cups of confectionary sugar) This is a really nice cake!! I can't wait to share the recipe with my mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDOWNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States