Strawberry Cake and Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
These were very good. Will make them again. I made a strawberry cream cheese icing to go on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tuckerlucydog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
**This review is only for the frosting** I made this frosting after having drained the strawberries, but it was still quite runny (not a big deal - I just kept the cake in the frig). More importantly, though, it was WAY too sweet. My guests made funny jokes about the sweetness, but when I tasted it, I knew they weren't just kidding -- I had to scrape off most of the frosting in order to eat my cake without gagging. I make frosting regularly, so I'm not sure what would have made this so sweet except that strawberries are a naturally sweet fruit. Maybe some fresh lemon juice would help balance out the super-sweetness...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
The best strawberry cake I've ever tasted! I made this for dessert for our Father's Day dinner and the whole family was RAVING about this cake! My sister is getting married and this is going to be one of the layers of her cake. I followed the original recipe and also used the flollow up tips that the owner of this recipe later posted and the cake turned out PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Great flavor and wonderful reviews! I made these cupcakes for my nieces 4th birthday and we called them pink princess cupcakes! Not only did the kids love them but the adults were mowing through the cupcakes! I followed the reviews on making the frosting not so runny but in the end the only thing that helped was putting the frosting in the freezer for a short time. THe frosting was still runny but it didn't really matter because it tasted soooo good. I can't wait to make these for the next birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinqueen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. It was so yummy. As others, I had a difficulty getting the right consistency. None the less, a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
The cake was very good. I poured it into a bundt pan instead of making a layer cake. So I didn't make the frosting. I made a buttermilk glaze instead, and garnished the top with some fresh strawberries cut in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This was pretty good. I'm usually against any recipe that starts off with a box mix - but I needed a strawberry cake for a friend's birthday. I made two cakes, only frosting one. Personally, I think it was better without. I used fresh strawberries instead of frozen-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Better than box strawberry cakes but somehow lacking. It was very rich and very thick and very large - over powering. I would have preferred this cake to be light and fluffy with a fresh strawberry taste. Not so. I was actually disappointed because my husband is obsessed with strawberry cake but only had it from a box so I thought I'd surprise him with the real deal and of course he appreciated the gesture but hardly ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I used cream cheese frosting instead of the frosting in the recipe, but the cake was beyond tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachas6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santiago De Compostela, Galicia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
It was tough reviewing this recipe with the stars. I made this and took it to a party (used this strawberry cream cheese frosting--I took Cream cheese Frosting II by Janni and added 10 crushed strawberries to it--it was runny, but refrigerating the cake before serving took care of that problem). I didn't like it at all. I thought the cake was artificial tasting. However, I got tons of compliments from people at the party--they loved the cake. I won't make it again, unless someone asks for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States