Strawberry Cake and Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
wow! These are great! I made mini and regular sizes cupcakes for a 1 yr olds bday party and rec'd so many compliments and a handful of new customers wanting me to provide their events with these cupcakes! One guest said their kid didnt like any kind of cake/cupcake but that her daughter loved and ate lots of these! I only had a problem with the icing being too "loose" for piping. I would suggest you add a little of the strawberries at a time until you reach the consistancy you are looking for. Thats the only reason I'm giving this recipe a 4 instead of a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDI12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kings Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Mooresboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I like adding 5 or 6 MORE strawberries to cut the 'way to sweet' taste of the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
awesome flavor, so light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by broeliz@gmail.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I made these today and they are so good! I pureed the strawberries w/my immersion blender and since some of the reviews stated the frosting was runny, I used 6oz in the cake and 4oz in the frosting - it worked perfectly! This is going in my "keeper" recipe file for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quita143

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cortland, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Super good! I made this recipe as cupcakes and it made 20 of them. They were so moist and light. The frosting was delicious as well. I had to rinse the strawberries and drain them before putting them into the frosting. Also, I bought sliced ones, so I mashed them first so there would be an even amount in the frosting. They looked great and everyone at work devoured them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Diamond Bar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
It was easy and I used the suggestions made in other reviews and it was the most moist cake I've ever tasted! The icing was awesome too! I made star cupcakes with them for my daughter's 5th birthday as the theme was Jem and the Holograms and used her signature star earrings as the main theme. I used white cake as I can't seem to find yellow around much. I'll be using this cake recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This cake is absolutely delicious!! The ONLY thing I would change is that I wish it had MORE of the wonderful icing. Next time I make it, which will be very soon, I will make more icing. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This was okay. The layers were very thin; I only had to bake them for 17 minutes, not the 30 minutes recommended. Flavor was okay, but not spectacular. It's possible I'm just not a big fan of strawberry cake in general.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I made this for my daughter's birthday. The whole family loved it. My granddaughter's thought it was so good they couldn't stay out of it, especially the icing. I will keep this handy for events in the future. Very good. 5 stars!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Wow (and not in a good way). I like to send my hubby w/ office treats every now & then. This time, I made Vday treats. These were very appropriate due to their pretty pink color, but I'm sorry to say not at all what I expected. My cupcakes didn't turn out at all! I must admit, I'm not the world's best baker, but I'm not a novice one either (I'm in b/t the 2). Not only were my cupcakes SUPER dry (I made 2 dozen cupcakes which I baked at 350 degrees for 20 min. as suggested on back of cake mix box), my frosting was also TOTAL failure! One VERY important note: You MUST soften your butter B4 creaming w/ your sugar & THEN add your berries. I'm not sure why I didn't do this (duh). I got so wrapped up in reading IMFLIPER's directions, I didn't give it a 2nd thought. My frosting was filled w/ lumps that even my powerful KitchenAid couldn't mix. I have 2 more thoughts to share. This recipe calls for a 10 oz. bag of frozen strawberries. It doesn't mention stawberries in syrup (i.e. the sweetened variety in a container that SHOULD be drained). There was no need to drain my berries (there wasn't any juice). I suppose if I allowed my berries to thaw, there may have been "some" juice, but IMFLIPER instructs to use FROZEN berries (?). Second, as is, this frosting is WAAAY too sweet (my gosh)! I couldn't stomach it & have a real sweet tooth! These remind me of cheap, aftificial box muffin mix w/ a sickenly too-sweet frosting. Sorry, IMFLIPER. Your dad's recipe is not for me! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States