Strawberry Cake and Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This cake was a big success at my daughter's 4th birthday party. The cake part I did exactly what the recipe said. I wasn't sure what I was supposed to do with the frozen strawberries so I popped in the microwave for about 20 seconds to defrost them a little. Then I threw them in the food processor. I didn't know how else to blend them into the cake batter. I had to cook the cake about 38 mins. That is because I used a larger crown cake tin. The frosting worked a little differently. I did not drain the juices since I used the food processor. I wound up using closer to 7 cups of sugar for the frosting. It was pretty sweet so I added a little less than a 1/2 tsp of salt. The cake was really good. Definitely a keeper and worth sharing with others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
The cake is magnificent and extremely moist. I made cupcakes out of the batter. I added the juice from the strawberries once I drained them and in addition added three chopped fresh strawberries. Like many others I had issues with the frosting being to thin even though I drained the strawberries. I used a 2lb bag of powdered sugar and in addition added 8 oz of softened cream cheese. Sweet but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Girard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
wow! These are great! I made mini and regular sizes cupcakes for a 1 yr olds bday party and rec'd so many compliments and a handful of new customers wanting me to provide their events with these cupcakes! One guest said their kid didnt like any kind of cake/cupcake but that her daughter loved and ate lots of these! I only had a problem with the icing being too "loose" for piping. I would suggest you add a little of the strawberries at a time until you reach the consistancy you are looking for. Thats the only reason I'm giving this recipe a 4 instead of a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDI12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kings Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Mooresboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I like adding 5 or 6 MORE strawberries to cut the 'way to sweet' taste of the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
awesome flavor, so light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by broeliz@gmail.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I made these today and they are so good! I pureed the strawberries w/my immersion blender and since some of the reviews stated the frosting was runny, I used 6oz in the cake and 4oz in the frosting - it worked perfectly! This is going in my "keeper" recipe file for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quita143

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cortland, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Super good! I made this recipe as cupcakes and it made 20 of them. They were so moist and light. The frosting was delicious as well. I had to rinse the strawberries and drain them before putting them into the frosting. Also, I bought sliced ones, so I mashed them first so there would be an even amount in the frosting. They looked great and everyone at work devoured them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Diamond Bar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
It was easy and I used the suggestions made in other reviews and it was the most moist cake I've ever tasted! The icing was awesome too! I made star cupcakes with them for my daughter's 5th birthday as the theme was Jem and the Holograms and used her signature star earrings as the main theme. I used white cake as I can't seem to find yellow around much. I'll be using this cake recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This cake is absolutely delicious!! The ONLY thing I would change is that I wish it had MORE of the wonderful icing. Next time I make it, which will be very soon, I will make more icing. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This was okay. The layers were very thin; I only had to bake them for 17 minutes, not the 30 minutes recommended. Flavor was okay, but not spectacular. It's possible I'm just not a big fan of strawberry cake in general.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States