Strawberry Cake and Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I want to give it 4.8 stars. The .2 that I can't give the recipe is because I have a mental block - if I am going bake a cake, it needs to be from scratch - and this uses the boxed cake mix. Aside from that, I love this recipe. It reminds me of birthday parties from childhood, and a taste of this cake is exactly what you need for reminiscing! If you aren't concerned with presentation, do yourself a favor and do the 9 by 13 pan - it is easier and then you don't need to worry about frosting the sides of a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
OMG I'd give this 10 stars! I'm not much of a baker, but this was fabulous! I got compliments for two days. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This was really good cake and really yummy frosting. I followed everyones advice and drained my berry juice so my frosting would be of better consistency. I will definetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
The cake was fine but the frosting was runny. I even stuck it in the freezer to see if it would thicken. But since I was serving this for a surprise birthday party - I had to get it going and fast. SO, I added heavy whipping cream, more confectioners sugar AND cream cheese. ABSOLUTELY Marvelous! Once it draped over the cake it looked so cute and yummy. Definitely spread between each cake...I forgot that part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
This was pretty good. It was unnaturally pink, though. If I try it again, I may use something to replace the strawberry gelatin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I thought this was good but a little too sweet. I felt that the frosting was a little much. I think it would have been better to use vanilla frosting instead of strawberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
This recipe was really great. I added a little milk and vanilla to the frosting to make it a little creamier and such and it was just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I was looking for a homemade strawberry frosting. So I only used the recipe for the frosting & not the cake. I used this on choc mayo cake (recipes are on here). I used fresh strawberries (pureeing them first, drain & save juice from berries you may need the juice to get frsoting a better consistency) AND the amount of butter is right......1/2 CUP! Use 1/2 stick and it wont be enough! (the person who used 1/2 stick, the frosting was runny from not draining juices, not butter!!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
The cake part was good, but not the best I've ever had. The taste of yellow cake mix was still fairly prominant with the occasional berry breakthrough. I used a bake-and-fill mold and filled the center with a strawberry mousse. I'm glad I did for the extra strawberry flavor. I frosted the rest of the cake with chocolate frosting, and it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
great recipe loved the cake, moist and lots of flavor, icing really sweet but strawberry icing on all the cakes in delis and restaurants is as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States