Strawberry Cake and Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I thought this was good but a little too sweet. I felt that the frosting was a little much. I think it would have been better to use vanilla frosting instead of strawberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
This recipe was really great. I added a little milk and vanilla to the frosting to make it a little creamier and such and it was just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I was looking for a homemade strawberry frosting. So I only used the recipe for the frosting & not the cake. I used this on choc mayo cake (recipes are on here). I used fresh strawberries (pureeing them first, drain & save juice from berries you may need the juice to get frsoting a better consistency) AND the amount of butter is right......1/2 CUP! Use 1/2 stick and it wont be enough! (the person who used 1/2 stick, the frosting was runny from not draining juices, not butter!!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
The cake part was good, but not the best I've ever had. The taste of yellow cake mix was still fairly prominant with the occasional berry breakthrough. I used a bake-and-fill mold and filled the center with a strawberry mousse. I'm glad I did for the extra strawberry flavor. I frosted the rest of the cake with chocolate frosting, and it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
great recipe loved the cake, moist and lots of flavor, icing really sweet but strawberry icing on all the cakes in delis and restaurants is as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
Great recipe! I made a few adjustments and changed the strawberries to raspberries and the same with the jello. I added lemon curd for the filling between the layers and frosted with buttercream. It was delightful. I love how easy and versitile this cake is! Everyone commented on how moist it was. I would definately make this cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake Village, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This was a great recipe for strawberry cake! The cake was moist and just the right consistency. I used two 8" pans instead and only increased the cooking time by about 2 mins. Also, I used plain buttercream frosting instead of the strawberry and it was still delicious. I made it for my husband's birthday and he LOVED it! And he's not even big on sweets! A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I definitely ate it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Very yummy and moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Pretty darn good. Everyone loved it. The frosting was a little sweet, even after I lowered some of the sugar! Tasted best chilled in the fridge - maybe because the gelatin flavor could come out more that way?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States