Strawberry Cake and Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
5 stars for flavor & simplicity! The only thing I needed to change was to adjust the cooking time. I made one thick 9 inch cake instead of 2 layers. So it cooked closer 40 minutes & I made sure the cake springs back when touched. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
My cake was soooo delicious! I'm only giving it 4 stars because the directions on what to do with the strawberries is so vague and only being a beginner level in cooking I can't say I would've known what to do with them had I not read all the other reviews. Also, I did not use the frosting recipe because I could already tell it would be too sweet for my taste; however I basically used the same ingredients for the frosting just different ratios. I thawed strawberries i previously froze, pureed them, strained them and reduced it about 20 minutes on the stove. I used white cake instead. The color of the cake came out beautiful. I also used the strawberry reduction for the frosting, 1 cup of butter and 3 cups of confectioners sugar with a tsp of vanilla. I will definitely make this cake again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
I made this for my husband on his birthday and he loved it! I served it with yoghurt for extra moisture and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This was really, really good. The directions are based on cake, not cupcakes, so adjust baking time as needed. Oh, and I could not get the frosting to the right consistency. I don't know if it was me or the recipe but I kept tweaking it and it still came out runny- perhaps because of the amount of water in the frozen strawberries? Overall, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONEBLUEBALLOON
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookie!
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
As a general rule, I am not a fan of strawberry cake. This one, however, is fantastic! I made this recipe as cupcakes. I did syrup the cupcakes with strawberry simple syrup since I made them a day ahead. I also made a buttermilk/strawberry buttercream swirl frosting that was perfect with the cake. I highly recommend this recipe to anyone searching for an easy and delicious strawberry cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
This is delicious but too strawberry. It was too intense for my kids to eat more than a half of a cup-cake. Next time I will make the cake with whip cream for topping or a white cake with the strawberry frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I only made the icing and it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Great recipe. Was moist & you could taste the strawberries. Made it for daughter's birthday, she loved it. Frosted with strawberry cream cheese icing. Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wycoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I made this cake for Thanksgiving my family and I loved it! The flavor was perfect and it smelled delicious. Instead of cupcakes I made a bundt cake, which should be cooked for a hour instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I used only the cake recipe to make strawberry cupcakes, which were really very good, then filled with a lemon curd and iced with lemonade icing for a "Strawberry Lemonade Cupcake" theory. It was amazing, as the original recipe that I had just called for strawberry cake mix ... which has no flavor. With this recipe, the strawberry stood up to the icing, which was key to success. They got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States