Strawberry Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
I used this recipe as a wedding cake with the frosting as the filling. The groom said it was the best cake he has ever eaten. I didn't use any extra liquid in the frosting. The strawberry juice in the frozen strawberries was enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
As a cake decorator I am always looking for a new recipe to 'wow' my customers. This one gets rave reviews everytime! I do not use their frosting, however. I torte the cake and use a strawberry filling between the layers. This is a moist, delicious cake that even held up to the weight of fondant! Definitely try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2001
My mom makes this cake all the time. 1 of my aunts can't have chocolate and allways ask for this cake instead. It's a perfect cake for anytime like birthdays, get togethers, any holiday!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2001
Took this to an Easter dinner and everyone raved about this cake. It was a success. I baked it at 350 for 40 min. and did not need to add the milk to the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2001
This is an easy to make cake with wonderful strawberry flavor! I used a combination of fresh and frozen strawberries, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2001
Delicious moist cake. Was a real hit with the family. I used frozen strawberries that I had recently picked. I had to freeze most the cake to keep me from eating it all!! Niblet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
The strawberry cake has a wonderful flavor although the frosting is very sweet. It requires a longer baking time and it almost looks brownish by the time it finally tests done. I either make two cakes and use one frosting for both or my family likes the cake with cool whip on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
The cake was fantastic, but the icing wasn't - too sweet for me. I made the cake again, this time taking the vanilla cool-whip and mixing that with some of the strawberries in syrup (about five oz of the strawberries). I decorated the top of the cake with whole strawberries cut in half placed all over the cake. This time the cake was PERFECT! LOL. Had a lot of great comments on the cake the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Very good cake my family and friends always request. I make a sheet cake and layered cake but its usually too much frosting. To make the frosting the right consistency, use only a teaspoon of remaining strawberries & juice at a time until you get the desired spreading consistency. I have never had to use the milk. Also don't melt the margarine if you want frosting consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
My husband says this is his new favorite cake. I used vanilla cool whip as the frosting instead and it was the perfect topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States