Strawberry Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
This was great! My grandma had this same recipe, but a couple of things were different, and I think it would help with some of the things that others complained about. First, use 1/3 cup milk instead of 2/3 cup water in the batter. Second, use 1/2 cup strawberries (undrained) for the cake. For the icing, my grandma's recipe called for 1/2 cup margarine, 1 - 1 1b. box of powdered sugar, and 1/2 cup of strawberries, DRAINED. That makes a TON of icing, so I halved it, and it was the PERFECT amount: 1/4 cup margarine, 2 cups powdered sugar (which is 1/2 a box), and I still use 1/2 cup of strawberries, DRAINED. Excellent cake!! Thanks for the recipe - now I have it online!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I took a reviewer's advice and used the 1/3 cup milk instead of the water. I'm glad I did. I was afraid the edges would burn before the center was done, but the cake turned out spectacular. I added 1 1/2 Tablespoons of lemon juice because the batter tasted way too sweet. I mashed the strawberries, then added them to the cake batter. I'm not sure if this is the proper way to prepare the cake, but it turned out fine. I used a 6oz package of gelatin; half for the cake, the rest I put in my cream cheese frosting recipe made with less sugar and a tablespoon of strawberry all-fruit preserves. If you take this suggestion, make sure to adjust the sugar in your frosting for the sugar in the strawberry gelatin. I didn't use the frosting suggested because I thought it sounded way too sweet and bland. I cut each cake layer in half to get more frosting in the cake because the cream cheese frosting with strawberry flavor is excellent. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
The cake was fantastic, but the icing wasn't - too sweet for me. I made the cake again, this time taking the vanilla cool-whip and mixing that with some of the strawberries in syrup (about five oz of the strawberries). I decorated the top of the cake with whole strawberries cut in half placed all over the cake. This time the cake was PERFECT! LOL. Had a lot of great comments on the cake the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
As a cake decorator I am always looking for a new recipe to 'wow' my customers. This one gets rave reviews everytime! I do not use their frosting, however. I torte the cake and use a strawberry filling between the layers. This is a moist, delicious cake that even held up to the weight of fondant! Definitely try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
I used this recipe as a wedding cake with the frosting as the filling. The groom said it was the best cake he has ever eaten. I didn't use any extra liquid in the frosting. The strawberry juice in the frozen strawberries was enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Yummy! Easy! I didn't have strawberry jello, so I used raspberry and it worked just fine. I've also made this recipe without the jello, it was still good, just not PINK. ;) Thanks for a great strawberry cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by April
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Excellent! I substituted real butter for the margarine because I avoid trans fats. I also dyed my frosting a shade of pink not found in nature using some magenta toned food coloring paste I had in the house, hence the color in the picture :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
AWESOME!!! I made this for a get-together with friends and everyone loved it. I did change a few things..... I didn't have white cake mix, so used strawberry with cherry jello. It was wonderful! As others stated about the frosting, the milk was not needed, nor do you need to melt the margarine. I used the 4 Tbs margarine, 4 cups confectioners sugar, and the strawberries, then added a half tub of Cool Whip. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Very good cake--I didn't make the frosting, though. I used cream cheese frosting. I made cupcakes and just used the directions on the box for the cupcake time, and I set the oven at 350. If I set a baked good at 325 it takes way too long in my oven. The cupcakes took about 28 min--a little longer than the box stated, but I'm thinking it's due to the strawberries in the cake. I think I might defrost the strawberries a bit next time; they kind of were hard to mix in with the handmixer and a few flew out. Nice cake, though, and it turns out a nice pink color. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This was just o.k. The cake itself was good, but the frosting was too sweet and did not mix up well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States