Strawberry Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
I used this recipe as a wedding cake with the frosting as the filling. The groom said it was the best cake he has ever eaten. I didn't use any extra liquid in the frosting. The strawberry juice in the frozen strawberries was enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2001
My mom makes this cake all the time. 1 of my aunts can't have chocolate and allways ask for this cake instead. It's a perfect cake for anytime like birthdays, get togethers, any holiday!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2001
Took this to an Easter dinner and everyone raved about this cake. It was a success. I baked it at 350 for 40 min. and did not need to add the milk to the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2001
This is an easy to make cake with wonderful strawberry flavor! I used a combination of fresh and frozen strawberries, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2001
Delicious moist cake. Was a real hit with the family. I used frozen strawberries that I had recently picked. I had to freeze most the cake to keep me from eating it all!! Niblet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
This recipe did not go together as stated in the recipe. The oven setting should have been 350 degrees, it needed to bake at least 45 min and the frosting came out as a glaze instead of a frosting and I didn't even add the milk. Only have of the strawberries should be added to the confectioners sugar and add more if you need a better consistency. Overall, good, but disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2002
The cake was okay not the best would have been easier just to buy the strawberry cake mix. I had problems with the frosting too it came out to thin. I will not use this recipe agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
The strawberry cake has a wonderful flavor although the frosting is very sweet. It requires a longer baking time and it almost looks brownish by the time it finally tests done. I either make two cakes and use one frosting for both or my family likes the cake with cool whip on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
The cake was good (really sweet) but the frosting was way too watery. I made it and had to buy frosting in a jar to put on it. Everyone liked the cake though. I put a slice of strawberry on the top of each piece of cake after I cut it into small squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
The cake was fantastic, but the icing wasn't - too sweet for me. I made the cake again, this time taking the vanilla cool-whip and mixing that with some of the strawberries in syrup (about five oz of the strawberries). I decorated the top of the cake with whole strawberries cut in half placed all over the cake. This time the cake was PERFECT! LOL. Had a lot of great comments on the cake the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States