Strawberry Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Yummy! Easy! I didn't have strawberry jello, so I used raspberry and it worked just fine. I've also made this recipe without the jello, it was still good, just not PINK. ;) Thanks for a great strawberry cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
My family loved this but I changed things based on reviews. I cut the sugar way down and it was still very sweet. I added more strawberries and a container of cool whip to the frosting. (The consistency of the frosting was very thin otherwise.) After frosting, I placed the cake in the fridge and let the frosting thicken. I added strawberries on top just before serving. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
I have been baking cakes for years. You will have to bake this alot longer than 30 min., and definitely not at 325, but 350. The icing was like water and I had to take half of it out add more sugar to thicken. My suggestion is to not add milk, and not melt teh butter. This cake is much too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
My husband says this is his new favorite cake. I used vanilla cool whip as the frosting instead and it was the perfect topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Very good cake my family and friends always request. I make a sheet cake and layered cake but its usually too much frosting. To make the frosting the right consistency, use only a teaspoon of remaining strawberries & juice at a time until you get the desired spreading consistency. I have never had to use the milk. Also don't melt the margarine if you want frosting consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
This was great! My grandma had this same recipe, but a couple of things were different, and I think it would help with some of the things that others complained about. First, use 1/3 cup milk instead of 2/3 cup water in the batter. Second, use 1/2 cup strawberries (undrained) for the cake. For the icing, my grandma's recipe called for 1/2 cup margarine, 1 - 1 1b. box of powdered sugar, and 1/2 cup of strawberries, DRAINED. That makes a TON of icing, so I halved it, and it was the PERFECT amount: 1/4 cup margarine, 2 cups powdered sugar (which is 1/2 a box), and I still use 1/2 cup of strawberries, DRAINED. Excellent cake!! Thanks for the recipe - now I have it online!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
As a cake decorator I am always looking for a new recipe to 'wow' my customers. This one gets rave reviews everytime! I do not use their frosting, however. I torte the cake and use a strawberry filling between the layers. This is a moist, delicious cake that even held up to the weight of fondant! Definitely try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
The cake was fantastic, but the icing wasn't - too sweet for me. I made the cake again, this time taking the vanilla cool-whip and mixing that with some of the strawberries in syrup (about five oz of the strawberries). I decorated the top of the cake with whole strawberries cut in half placed all over the cake. This time the cake was PERFECT! LOL. Had a lot of great comments on the cake the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
The cake was good (really sweet) but the frosting was way too watery. I made it and had to buy frosting in a jar to put on it. Everyone liked the cake though. I put a slice of strawberry on the top of each piece of cake after I cut it into small squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
The strawberry cake has a wonderful flavor although the frosting is very sweet. It requires a longer baking time and it almost looks brownish by the time it finally tests done. I either make two cakes and use one frosting for both or my family likes the cake with cool whip on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States