Strawberry Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Got rave reviews and co-workers asking for the recipe. I did add 1/3 cup milk & 1/3 cup strawberry juice to make the 2/3 c liquid. I bought 16 oz. of strawberries so added about a cup of strawberries and used the remaining in a cream cheese frosting I made. I omitted the butter in the cake and could not tell a difference - it was plenty moist. Served with vanilla ice cream as I feel it takes the edge off the sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
AWESOME!!! I made this for a get-together with friends and everyone loved it. I did change a few things..... I didn't have white cake mix, so used strawberry with cherry jello. It was wonderful! As others stated about the frosting, the milk was not needed, nor do you need to melt the margarine. I used the 4 Tbs margarine, 4 cups confectioners sugar, and the strawberries, then added a half tub of Cool Whip. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This was very good, the only reason I gave it 4 instead of five stars was because I made some changes, I took other's advice and used 1/3 cup of milk and instead of strawberries, I used about 1/2- 3/4 of a cup (I didn't measure) of strawberry Jelly, which I've only seen at safeway (and maybe Ray's??) I'll be using this recipe for my daughter's first birthday cake and I do not want seeds or chunks of strawberries in it. it tastes great, even with my modefications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mia
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Very tasty and flavorful cake. I was skeptical at first but it turned out beautifully. I made cupcakes with it and remember to only fill the cup half full as it puffs up big. I also substituted 1/3 cup of milk for the water and I didn't use the frosting recipe I used cream cheese frosting II instead. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Very good cake--I didn't make the frosting, though. I used cream cheese frosting. I made cupcakes and just used the directions on the box for the cupcake time, and I set the oven at 350. If I set a baked good at 325 it takes way too long in my oven. The cupcakes took about 28 min--a little longer than the box stated, but I'm thinking it's due to the strawberries in the cake. I think I might defrost the strawberries a bit next time; they kind of were hard to mix in with the handmixer and a few flew out. Nice cake, though, and it turns out a nice pink color. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Every time I make this recipe it gets rave reviews. I do not like the frosting though. I have never gotten it to set. It is too runny and doesn't set on the cake good. I usually just use store bought frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
My family loves this cake they ask for on every chance they get. I even made a whole sheet cake for my brother graduation.I used cream cheese frosting and decorated it with fresh strawberries and people were to busy standing at the cake table eating cake to even talk to each other!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
This was just o.k. The cake itself was good, but the frosting was too sweet and did not mix up well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I took a reviewer's advice and used the 1/3 cup milk instead of the water. I'm glad I did. I was afraid the edges would burn before the center was done, but the cake turned out spectacular. I added 1 1/2 Tablespoons of lemon juice because the batter tasted way too sweet. I mashed the strawberries, then added them to the cake batter. I'm not sure if this is the proper way to prepare the cake, but it turned out fine. I used a 6oz package of gelatin; half for the cake, the rest I put in my cream cheese frosting recipe made with less sugar and a tablespoon of strawberry all-fruit preserves. If you take this suggestion, make sure to adjust the sugar in your frosting for the sugar in the strawberry gelatin. I didn't use the frosting suggested because I thought it sounded way too sweet and bland. I cut each cake layer in half to get more frosting in the cake because the cream cheese frosting with strawberry flavor is excellent. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by April
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Excellent! I substituted real butter for the margarine because I avoid trans fats. I also dyed my frosting a shade of pink not found in nature using some magenta toned food coloring paste I had in the house, hence the color in the picture :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States