Strawberry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This was pretty good. I only had a freezer bag of strawberries so I wasn't sure how much it was. I only added about 3 tbsp of olive oil and baked the cake in a 9x13 inch pan for about 50 minutes. It was nice and moist and had a good flavour. Oh and I used strawberry-kiwi jello. I left it un-iced and served it with cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Awesome cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I think one cup of oil is too much- I always just use the amount the cake mix calls for (typically 1/3 to 1/2 cup). I make this in either 2 8-inch round cake pans or in Bundt cake pan. I usually use fresh strawberries instead of frozen and I always put a layer of fresh strawberries in the middle of the frosted cake (if i use the Bundt pan I cut the cake in half after it has cooled). Also I always frost it with Whipped Cream Frosting (also from AR). The only bad about using that frosting is you have to keep the cake in the fridge. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Came out deliciously soft with full of strawberry flavor. I tried it with the whipped cream cheese frosting recipe from this site as others have suggested. It was ok. Next time I'll try regular cream cheese frosting. I think if I used the strawberry frosting in this receipe, it'd be super sweet and a strawberry overkill but that's just me =). I made these into cupcakes and baked 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Okay, so I had left over cream cheese frosting and also some cream filling for some cupcakes I made for my son's football team, so I decided what was the best thing to use this in, strawberry cupcakes. This recipe was delicious! I made 24 cupcakes and filled and frosted them with my left over ingredients, yummy!!! Everyone ate like at least 2 a piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This cake is delicious! So moist and the strawberry flavor is amazing. I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
WOW this is good! I used frozen strawberries and only made half a batch of the cake this evening as a "test run" before I make a double layer birthday cake with it on Monday for a friend. I used a muddle to mush down the frozen strawberries (unsweetened, whole and thawed.) No straining involved to remove seeds, and I didn't notice seeds at all in the results. I baked cupcakes (1/2 batch = 12 cupcakes) for about 20 minutes. I used Betty Crocker Whipped Cream Cheese Frosting and WOW was this an amazing combination! This cake was decicious and it's my new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I've made this cake (but never the frosting) at least four times in the last year, sometimes with fresh berries, sometimes with home frozen, once with commercial frozen. The best results came from a mixture of home frozen/commercial frozen. All commercial frozen made the cake a little too sweet, and all fresh berries came out a little dry and not nearly enough strawberry flavor. If you do use fresh, try letting them macerate in a little sugar for a couple hours to release some of the natural juice. Also, you don't have to have exactly the 10 oz of berries, but don't go too far over or the cake falls apart. The same goes with putting too many berries between the layers. I strongly recommend using the Whipped Whip Cream Cream Cheese Frosting - a cake this flavorful deserves a rich and creamy home made frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Beautiful Cake! Cake makes three nice big layers!! For the icing I used a stick of real butter and around 4 cups of powdered sugar! Took to work and gone in less than an hour! Worth the work to do a layer cake rather than a sheet cake- presentation is really nice!! 3-6-11 I have made this again and followed the recipe exactly. I am unsure why cake will rise nice, but then you let it cool and it shrinks a bunch!!!! I was so disappointed, but I know it will still be a hit tomorrow at work....just wondering why or what happened to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1SWILSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by aquariusgal
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
YUMMY!! This cake taste really good - i think adding fresh strawberries instead of frozen type, makes a discerning difference!! I baked at 325F for 35 mins using a 13" x 9" baking tray...cut into 2 and layered it with Whipped Cream Cheese Frosting ( also from allrecipes ). The layers were abit too thick - next time, will bake in 2x 9" round cake tins or in a jelly roll pan for thinner layers. I added 2/3s of the pureed and strained strawberries into the cake batter and the remaining 1/3 into the Whipped Cream cheese frosting. Both cake and frosting tasted really delicious n finger licking good!My dd couldnt have enough of the Strawberry Cream cheese frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aquariusgal

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States