Strawberry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I love it, made it twice in 3 weeks, my only changes were that I made the cake in bundt pan, as the icing was more like a glaze.. Everyone LOVE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cjai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
The ingredients for the icing is right on. I made the best strawberry icing and cake (draining the strawberries) ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I made this as written, except I made a bundt cake and I pureed my strawberries and strained the seeds as a personal preference. On the icing, I used aabout a 1/3 cup of pureed and strained strawberries and also made the icing with 1/2 the butter and 4 oz cream cheese. I ended up using 2 cups of sugar to get the consitency I wanted, still a bit runny like a glaze for the bundt. It turned out wonderful. Oh yes! 1 more change, I used applesauce in place of the oil to cut out SOME fat as this is not a low-cal cake! LOL But it's worth the extra calories. Just make thinner slices, more cake to go around. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
turned out real good, yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shakeel Syed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I actually made the cake the way the recipe says to make it and it turned out marvellous! Unlike the complaints from other reviewers, my frosting did not come out runny or sloppy at all. If you like strawberry ice cream, you will love this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thicknik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This cake is so light and good -even better left over. Make sure if using fresh strawberries that the are completely dried after washing . I made the mistake the second time and it was too loose, but still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Followed the directions exactly. The cake was cooked through, but sunk immediately after taking them out of the oven. The texture was funky, maybe because of the jello? Would very much not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Good, but not as great as I expected from all the reviews. I followed the directions exactly--although used a different frosting (seven minute frosting). I wonder if the cake really needs 4 eggs and 1 cup of oil as well--seemed a bit excessive. Still, it came out of the pan easily for decorating. Not sure I'd make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Absolutely wonderful. I found it nice and light with a rich, but not too rich strawberry flavor. I can not wait till next strawberry season to make this again. However next time I will definitely add more strawberries into the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This cake actually deserves 5 stars, but I gave it 3 because the frosting was way too runny, the butter didn't even completely mix into the frosting (I mixed and mixed for at least 20 minutes). I even added the whole (1lb) box of confectioner's sugar and a little cream cheese to try to get a frosting type consistencty, but it did not work. I will definately make the cake again, but will skip the frosting next time and maybe use a regular cream cheese frosting instead...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States