Strawberry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Great taste, but it was more like brownie consistency than cake - very dense. I don't know if it was from my alterations or if it was the cake in general. I didn't want a whole cup of oil in the cake, so I used 1/2 cup applesauce, and I used 5 oz fresh pureed strawberries instead of frozen. Those were my only changes to the cake, and my result was awesome flavor but very dense. I didn't use the frosting - instead I put a layer of lemon pie filling and a layer of cool whip on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I used a French Vanilla cake mix for the base (what I had) and 1# fresh strawberries, pureed, holding a few back for decoration. I put all of the puree into the cake batter. I put it in a bundt pan and baked for 1 hour. I made the Satiny Chocolate Glaze from this site to drizzle over. The cake was extremely moist and dense; think poundcake. It didn't rise as high as a "usual" bundt cake. We don't like things too sweet and it wasn't. 5 stars as it was so moist. I was hesitant to make it because a pink cake doesn't do anything for me visually. I've always had this aversion to them but if someone asked me to make a Strawberry Cake, this would definitely be it. The not-too-sweet glaze went very well with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Very Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Cake was amazing! I did follow another user's advice of only using 2 tbsp of strawberry puree for the frosting and I was not disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I've never baked this cake however I've used the strawberry frosting recipe plenty of times, which is awesome! I followed Ramajohn's review and only used 2 tbsp of strawberry puree for the frositng.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
We enjoyed the taste of strawberry but we felt it was an ugly color :) I am not sure if it was my fault or not but it was not a bright pink. It seemed a bit dull kinda like dirty strawberry color. I think next time I will add food coloring to it and also I added 1 tsp of strawberry extract to my batter before I baked the cake. We will definitely make it again with these few alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Burrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harts, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Dexter, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This cake is very heavy. It has too much oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ajo263
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This cake turned out very well and was loved by everyone! I frosted it with Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting, also from this site. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajo263

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
LOVE LOVE LOVE this cake.. Its very easy to make, it was my first time baking and it was a success. My daughter even made it herself when I refused to because I knew she was going to eat the whole thing alone!!! Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I love it, made it twice in 3 weeks, my only changes were that I made the cake in bundt pan, as the icing was more like a glaze.. Everyone LOVE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cjai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States