Strawberry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
This review is for the cake only. This was a really tasty strawberry cake. We used a vanilla buttercream for the frosting and used a cream cheese filling in between the layers. I only had enough batter for 2 9" layers and ended up making an additional batch for the 3rd layer. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Photo by Jamie C
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Im not a huge fan of strawberry cake, but my husband is so I decided to give this a try. I made the batter as instructed. For the frosting though, I did one stick of butter, 2 cups confectionary sugar, and a little evaporated milk. And I put in a tiny bit of strawberries to add color. This frosting turned out awesome. I also added mini chocolate chips to the side :) looked awesome! Tasted great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I used store-bought frosting because it's easier, but the cake itself was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
this was soooooo good i made it for my friend and we loved it and it tunred out a pretty pink color if i could i would give this 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cuttycat109

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This cake turned out very well, but I made a significant last-minute change: it calls for ONE WHOLE CUP of oil, when the cake mix only called for 1/3 cup. So I added only 1/2 cup oil (I always use light-tasting olive oil) and it came out great -- plenty moist. I don't have a food processor, so I chopped the fresh strawberries small and then used a potato masher. I was concerned about the artificial flavor in the jello, but the real berries made it taste right. Also, I prefer a traditional frosting, so I used "Best Buttercream Frosting" from this site and just whipped in about 5 ounces mashed strawberries. The berries caused the frosting to separate, but I just spread it and then chilled the whole cake. The frosting had a sort of textured appearance, but it looked nice and all tasted great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Very Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACY C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I have been making this cake for years - here are changes my recipe calls for mix 4 eggs with 3/4 cup oil then add white cake mix and gelatin which has been softened with 1/2 cup water. My recipe also calls for frozen strawberries but because of all the problems the other viewers had I used fresh strawberries in the cake & in the icing. I did not mix the icing very long because it will get runny. I used 2 9" pans with cake strips (they make ur cake rise flat so u don't have to cut the tops). It came out great - I would recommend either wax paper on the bottom or parchment paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This cake was very dry. Maybe if you made it with pudding instead of jello it would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Cake has a good flavor. Wasn't a fan of the icing so I made cream cheese frosting which complimented it well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Wilkerson Harmon
Living In: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Moist and delicious! Very easy to make. I always use fresh strawberries, not frozen. I have Leo substituted other fruits. I just made a black cherry version. Black cherry jello and fresh cherries for the substitutions. It came out even tastier than the strawberry version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melpav

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paramus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States