Strawberry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Moist and delicious! Very easy to make. I always use fresh strawberries, not frozen. I have Leo substituted other fruits. I just made a black cherry version. Black cherry jello and fresh cherries for the substitutions. It came out even tastier than the strawberry version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melpav

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paramus, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Substituted yellow cake mix used frozen fresh strawberries from our garden last summer. The intensity of the strawberry flavor was incredible. For frosting I used 1 stick butter 4 c.powdered sugar, 1/2 t vanilla with the rest of the defrosted strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Powell, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I baked this in 9x13 pan. My Huaband said it was the best cake I ever baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Hill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Made this for my 5 year old's Max & Ruby birthday cake...LOVED it! Great flavor, easy to make. I followed the previous reviewer, Ramajohn's, advice and only did 2 TBSP puree for the icing. Used fresh strawberries, I didnt strain the seeds, wasnt noticable when eating. Highly recommend if you have kid that wants a tasty pink birthday cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I only made the cake from this recipe and used a strawberry cream cheese recipe from another site. But the cake itself was fantastic. What a delicious flavor. I didn't find it overly sweet and my husband loved it! It was very moist even though I only used 1/2 cup canola oil. I also used 1 whole cup of water instead of 1/2. I will definitely use this strawberry cake recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Doral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Incredibly good! I followed Ramajohn's suggestions and used just over 1/2 cup of puree in the cake and about 3 TBSP in the frosting. Perfect in a 9 x 13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Photo by ladyinthewoods
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Very good and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Although I read many recipes and reviews, I don't normally leave one. Honestly, I wasn't sure about making a cake from a mix and with an imitation flavor such as jello… even with the real frozen strawberries (I started with whole frozen berries). I will have to admit that I thoroughly enjoyed the rave reviews from the family which were certainly quite REAL. There were many desserts and this was the only one that was completely wiped out. The only changes I made were 1) used grape seed oil instead of vegetable since it’s healthier. 2)I used my own butter/cream cheese frosting with a tiny bit of the pureed strawberries in it which wasn’t too sweet. 3) I used a 9x13 pan and put the frosting on before the cake was completely cool. I added some strawberry chunks on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
was very pleased with this recipe. Followed it to the exact, turned out wonderfully moist and flavorful. I made my own cream cheese frosting for the cake. Got rave reviews. Will make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This is a great recipe! This cake turned out moist, fluffy, and very flavorful! I made this for my daughter's 2nd birthday and we all loved it! For the cake I followed the recipe with 2 minor exceptions: (1) I used funfetti white cake because that's what I had on hand and (2) I baked 12 cupcakes and the remaining batter I baked in an 8x8 pan instead of 3 9-inch pans. I loved the strawberry taste! I used frozen strawberries as the recipe stated - I just thawed them at room temperature first and then pureed them in the blender before adding to the cake batter (next time I'll also strain the puree through some cheesecloth to get rid of the seeds - not horrible in the cake at all, I just noticed a few and thought I'd take them out next time I make this). I did not use the frosting recipe, I have a favorite vanilla frosting recipe that I used instead. I am making this cake again for my daughter's party in a couple of weeks... this recipe is a definite keeper, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States