Strawberry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by tiffany t
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Delicious! Made this for my wife for her birthday and she loved it. The best strawberry cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffany t

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Culpeper, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I received a lot of compliments on this cake. Delicious! I didn't use their icing recipe. I used 1- 8 ounce cream cheese (room temp), 1/2 c confectionary sugar, 1/2 bag strawberries; beat until well blended then folded in a (small) tub of cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I should've realized that the amount of strawberries for the frosting was too much for the low amount of powdered sugar. Unfortunately, I used the rest of what I had and didn't have more to fix it. Fortunately, I had a block of cream cheese and it saved the icing and is so good! I will forever add cream cheese to this frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I do it in a 13x9 pan and it's the best thing I've ever tasted! Always comes out nice and moist! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nita Cooper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mjk79
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Made cupcakes for a potluck, and they were a huge success! They're light, fluffy, and perfectly moist. The jello does mean they have a distinctly artificial taste to them, so if you want real strawberry taste, this is not the recipe for you. I don't mind it, but it was much stronger than I'd hoped. I also did not make the frosting, and instead opted for a honey vanilla bean frosting found elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
This review is for the cake only. This was a really tasty strawberry cake. We used a vanilla buttercream for the frosting and used a cream cheese filling in between the layers. I only had enough batter for 2 9" layers and ended up making an additional batch for the 3rd layer. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Photo by Jamie C
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Im not a huge fan of strawberry cake, but my husband is so I decided to give this a try. I made the batter as instructed. For the frosting though, I did one stick of butter, 2 cups confectionary sugar, and a little evaporated milk. And I put in a tiny bit of strawberries to add color. This frosting turned out awesome. I also added mini chocolate chips to the side :) looked awesome! Tasted great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I used store-bought frosting because it's easier, but the cake itself was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
this was soooooo good i made it for my friend and we loved it and it tunred out a pretty pink color if i could i would give this 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cuttycat109

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This cake turned out very well, but I made a significant last-minute change: it calls for ONE WHOLE CUP of oil, when the cake mix only called for 1/3 cup. So I added only 1/2 cup oil (I always use light-tasting olive oil) and it came out great -- plenty moist. I don't have a food processor, so I chopped the fresh strawberries small and then used a potato masher. I was concerned about the artificial flavor in the jello, but the real berries made it taste right. Also, I prefer a traditional frosting, so I used "Best Buttercream Frosting" from this site and just whipped in about 5 ounces mashed strawberries. The berries caused the frosting to separate, but I just spread it and then chilled the whole cake. The frosting had a sort of textured appearance, but it looked nice and all tasted great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States