Strawberry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Okay, so I had left over cream cheese frosting and also some cream filling for some cupcakes I made for my son's football team, so I decided what was the best thing to use this in, strawberry cupcakes. This recipe was delicious! I made 24 cupcakes and filled and frosted them with my left over ingredients, yummy!!! Everyone ate like at least 2 a piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This cake is delicious! So moist and the strawberry flavor is amazing. I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
WOW this is good! I used frozen strawberries and only made half a batch of the cake this evening as a "test run" before I make a double layer birthday cake with it on Monday for a friend. I used a muddle to mush down the frozen strawberries (unsweetened, whole and thawed.) No straining involved to remove seeds, and I didn't notice seeds at all in the results. I baked cupcakes (1/2 batch = 12 cupcakes) for about 20 minutes. I used Betty Crocker Whipped Cream Cheese Frosting and WOW was this an amazing combination! This cake was decicious and it's my new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I've made this cake (but never the frosting) at least four times in the last year, sometimes with fresh berries, sometimes with home frozen, once with commercial frozen. The best results came from a mixture of home frozen/commercial frozen. All commercial frozen made the cake a little too sweet, and all fresh berries came out a little dry and not nearly enough strawberry flavor. If you do use fresh, try letting them macerate in a little sugar for a couple hours to release some of the natural juice. Also, you don't have to have exactly the 10 oz of berries, but don't go too far over or the cake falls apart. The same goes with putting too many berries between the layers. I strongly recommend using the Whipped Whip Cream Cream Cheese Frosting - a cake this flavorful deserves a rich and creamy home made frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Beautiful Cake! Cake makes three nice big layers!! For the icing I used a stick of real butter and around 4 cups of powdered sugar! Took to work and gone in less than an hour! Worth the work to do a layer cake rather than a sheet cake- presentation is really nice!! 3-6-11 I have made this again and followed the recipe exactly. I am unsure why cake will rise nice, but then you let it cool and it shrinks a bunch!!!! I was so disappointed, but I know it will still be a hit tomorrow at work....just wondering why or what happened to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1SWILSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by aquariusgal
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
YUMMY!! This cake taste really good - i think adding fresh strawberries instead of frozen type, makes a discerning difference!! I baked at 325F for 35 mins using a 13" x 9" baking tray...cut into 2 and layered it with Whipped Cream Cheese Frosting ( also from allrecipes ). The layers were abit too thick - next time, will bake in 2x 9" round cake tins or in a jelly roll pan for thinner layers. I added 2/3s of the pureed and strained strawberries into the cake batter and the remaining 1/3 into the Whipped Cream cheese frosting. Both cake and frosting tasted really delicious n finger licking good!My dd couldnt have enough of the Strawberry Cream cheese frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aquariusgal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
This was super nummy...I used the frosting that is 1 cup whipping cr.whipped and then 1 box pudding..your choice, I used cheesecake...and then 1 8oz tub of cool whip...made this for my daughters #1 birthday and it was a hit...oooh so good guests were wanting more :) One thing though it was a little moise so be careful about trasporting...can easily fall apart because it is so moist. Would definately make again...I also pureed the strawberrys that went into the cake and put a layer of finely diced in between the 2 layers... of 8 in. rounds ;) SUPER YUMMY !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
OMG - THIS IS AMAZING. The best strawberry cake out there. I won't bother with any other from now on. The secret is to add strawberry puree to both the cake batter and the icing. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception that I took 14 oz of frozen whole strawberries (unsweetened!) and thawed them partially and then pureed them in a food processor. I set aside 2/3 of it for the icing and the rest I put in the cake. I heavily sprayed 2 round cake pans with baking Pam and the cake was just perfect. So moist and flavorful with that real strawberry taste - not artificial tasting at all. Then for the icing, I made a cream cheese strawberry icing that is to die for. I took 12 oz cream cheese (which is one full block plus another half) and 2 sticks of unsalted butter and used a beater on medium speed to cream that together until smooth. Then I added the 2/3 cups strawberry puree, 1 tsp vanilla, 4 cups of powered sugar and pinch of salt. Mix together with spoon and then beat again until smooth. It is just amazing. The consistency is not very thick, but will ice the cake just fine. Just use toothpicks if you made the cake in two 9 inch pans. The flavor is out of this world. I made this for my uncle's birthday and everyone raved about it! This will be a permanent addition to my recipe book and I won't bother making a different one ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I made this for my mother-in-laws birthday and it was a huge hit. Followed the recipe exactly except put fresh sliced strawberries in between layers and used the whipped cream cheese frosting recipe from this site. This is now THE birthday cake from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Chesterfield, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I have made this several times and everyone loves it! Make sure you are using unsweetened frozen strawberries. I have a feeling the way too sweet reviewers are using sweetened ones. I do not use the frosting with this recipe either. I use a cream cheese frosting from the BC cookbook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States