Strawberry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by MAMALEIGH
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Goodbye, strawberry cake mix! I followed the recipe very closely, but I added 1/4 cup flour instead of 3 tablespoons. I used 3 cake pans as directed, and all three were filled to the top after baking. So, three pans is a must. I don't thinK I'd try to get away with using two pans. For the frosting, I used a half cup of shortening, one stick of softened butter, 1/2 cup of pureed strawberries, a 2-pound bag of powdered sugar, 1 or 2 teaspoons of vanilla (to taste) and a teaspoon of butter flavoring. I creamed the butter, shortenng, flavorings, andberries in my stand mixer, slowly added the sugar, and left it on high speed for about 10 minutes. The result was a light strawberry buttercream frosting that was easy to spread, but not to thin. I'll keep this recipe in mind for the next time someone requests a strawbrry cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This was wonderful! I actually blended the strawberries in the blender with water, then mixed everything together. I also made cupcakes instead. Recipe made about 36 cupcakes. Bake at 325 for about 18 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I LOVE this cake but like the others, the frosting just has the runs. I even altered by adding more powdered sugar but that only helped a little. I love the taste of the frosting but it doesn't tranport well. I hate that I may have to use something thicker like a cream cheese based frosting. While the latter is good, it's just different. Also, I don't feel comfortable leaving the cake out of the fridge for long as I use fresh stawbs. Maybe this isn't a good bake-sale selection. Still, I will be devouring it during strawberry season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I just made this using a chocolate cake mix as the base. Heavenly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This was veryyyyy good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hammond, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plaquemine, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
LOVE this cake. Very Easy and always gets rave reviews! I use fresh strawberries and a cream cheese frosting... Nothing Better!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dix Hills, New York, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This was pretty good. I only had a freezer bag of strawberries so I wasn't sure how much it was. I only added about 3 tbsp of olive oil and baked the cake in a 9x13 inch pan for about 50 minutes. It was nice and moist and had a good flavour. Oh and I used strawberry-kiwi jello. I left it un-iced and served it with cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Awesome cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I think one cup of oil is too much- I always just use the amount the cake mix calls for (typically 1/3 to 1/2 cup). I make this in either 2 8-inch round cake pans or in Bundt cake pan. I usually use fresh strawberries instead of frozen and I always put a layer of fresh strawberries in the middle of the frosted cake (if i use the Bundt pan I cut the cake in half after it has cooled). Also I always frost it with Whipped Cream Frosting (also from AR). The only bad about using that frosting is you have to keep the cake in the fridge. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Came out deliciously soft with full of strawberry flavor. I tried it with the whipped cream cheese frosting recipe from this site as others have suggested. It was ok. Next time I'll try regular cream cheese frosting. I think if I used the strawberry frosting in this receipe, it'd be super sweet and a strawberry overkill but that's just me =). I made these into cupcakes and baked 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States