Strawberry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I LOVE this cake but like the others, the frosting just has the runs. I even altered by adding more powdered sugar but that only helped a little. I love the taste of the frosting but it doesn't tranport well. I hate that I may have to use something thicker like a cream cheese based frosting. While the latter is good, it's just different. Also, I don't feel comfortable leaving the cake out of the fridge for long as I use fresh stawbs. Maybe this isn't a good bake-sale selection. Still, I will be devouring it during strawberry season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I just made this using a chocolate cake mix as the base. Heavenly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This was veryyyyy good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hammond, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plaquemine, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
LOVE this cake. Very Easy and always gets rave reviews! I use fresh strawberries and a cream cheese frosting... Nothing Better!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dix Hills, New York, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This was pretty good. I only had a freezer bag of strawberries so I wasn't sure how much it was. I only added about 3 tbsp of olive oil and baked the cake in a 9x13 inch pan for about 50 minutes. It was nice and moist and had a good flavour. Oh and I used strawberry-kiwi jello. I left it un-iced and served it with cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Awesome cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I think one cup of oil is too much- I always just use the amount the cake mix calls for (typically 1/3 to 1/2 cup). I make this in either 2 8-inch round cake pans or in Bundt cake pan. I usually use fresh strawberries instead of frozen and I always put a layer of fresh strawberries in the middle of the frosted cake (if i use the Bundt pan I cut the cake in half after it has cooled). Also I always frost it with Whipped Cream Frosting (also from AR). The only bad about using that frosting is you have to keep the cake in the fridge. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Came out deliciously soft with full of strawberry flavor. I tried it with the whipped cream cheese frosting recipe from this site as others have suggested. It was ok. Next time I'll try regular cream cheese frosting. I think if I used the strawberry frosting in this receipe, it'd be super sweet and a strawberry overkill but that's just me =). I made these into cupcakes and baked 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Okay, so I had left over cream cheese frosting and also some cream filling for some cupcakes I made for my son's football team, so I decided what was the best thing to use this in, strawberry cupcakes. This recipe was delicious! I made 24 cupcakes and filled and frosted them with my left over ingredients, yummy!!! Everyone ate like at least 2 a piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This cake is delicious! So moist and the strawberry flavor is amazing. I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States