Strawberry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
perfect. I did puree the berries simply per preference. I also used a different frosting "whipped cream cheese frosting" from this site which turned out so good. It tasted just like strawberry ice cream. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Just made this for my dad's birthday and it brought down the house! So good. I've made a similar version before, and here are the tweaks I made: First, use an all-natural jello from whole foods or somewhere to avoid the shocking pink color (and improve taste). Instead of water I use 6 oz. Greek Yogurt or buttermilk - makes cakes moist (and just add a bit of sugar to counteract the sourness). I used a bit less oil (3/4c) because esp. with the yogurt it really doesn't need a full cup (and I'm not one to skimp). I add 1/2 each of chopped pecans and unsweetened coconut - a nice texture/taste addition. Finally, for the frosting, I needed another cup of confectioner sugar to stiffen it up, and it was extremely sweet, so I folded in 1.5 cups of whipping cream (whipped to stiff peaks)- so yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I always have yellow cake mix so I decided to make it with it. I don't see how a white mix would have been better because my cake came out very well. I did use 3/4 c oil and 3/4 c of water because that's how my lemon jello is made. It worked and I used a powered sugar glaze that had milk, a little butter and vanilla. I just drizzled it on it was fine. I have also made this cake with a cream cheese frosting too. The glaze seems to be my favorite since it is lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa T
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This is a great recipe! It has an amazing strawberry flavor...I frosted with vanillia buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I really enjoy this cake and so does everyone else. The only thing I do different is to use a cream cheese based icing. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachealvarhola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gloucester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I made this cake for Easter. Instead of making three round cakes, I made it in 9 x 13 pan. Once it cooled, I turned it out onto a platter. Instead of the butter cream frosting I used the recipe on this site for Easy Whipped Cream. I doubled the recipe, but cut the sour cream by half and increased the heavy cream. The tang was just right with the richness of the strawberry cake. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I should have read the reviews first. The cake is great but the icing needs work. This will be a keeper with the right icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
nom nom nom. This is such an easy yummy recipe. I brought this to work and everyone couldn't believe this started from a white cake mix. I used fresh strawberries since they are in season, about 8 ounces. Since strawberries can sometimes have a slight tart taste to them, I cut them into slices, threw them in a bowl, tossed about 1-2 tsp sugar over them, gave it a quick stir and toss them into the fridge for about an hour or so. I then pureed the strawberries and added it to the cake mixture. I didn't want chunky strawberry pieces. Instead of a cake I made cupcakes instead. 350 degrees F at about 22 mins. This recipe made exactly 24 perfect cupcakes. I didn't use the frosting though. I used the cool whip frosting on this website because I wanted an overall light fluffy cupcake. This is a perfect combination for spring/summer fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SusanB
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Excellent cake. I reduced the cooking time to 25 minutes or it's to dry and then made butter cream frosting for the side which holds up better then the cream cheese frosting. Inside I mixed the Whipped cream with the cream cheese and powder sugar and vanilla, it makes a light and fluffy cheesecake filling-don't over whip it or it will go flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This turned out very sweet and too dense the first time I made it without changing up anything. It was still pretty good. The next time, I just made it very simple. I simply used a Philsbury yellow package cake mix (followed instructions per the box) with 1/2 cup strawberries pureed in the cake mix and 2 tbsp in the icing (suggested by Ramajohn) and that's it! I just topped the cake with fresh strawberries. I omitted everything else and it turned out excellent! I guess I created a new recipe, but hey everyone loved it at a birthday party!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States