Strawberry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by ladyinthewoods
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Very good and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Although I read many recipes and reviews, I don't normally leave one. Honestly, I wasn't sure about making a cake from a mix and with an imitation flavor such as jello… even with the real frozen strawberries (I started with whole frozen berries). I will have to admit that I thoroughly enjoyed the rave reviews from the family which were certainly quite REAL. There were many desserts and this was the only one that was completely wiped out. The only changes I made were 1) used grape seed oil instead of vegetable since it’s healthier. 2)I used my own butter/cream cheese frosting with a tiny bit of the pureed strawberries in it which wasn’t too sweet. 3) I used a 9x13 pan and put the frosting on before the cake was completely cool. I added some strawberry chunks on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
was very pleased with this recipe. Followed it to the exact, turned out wonderfully moist and flavorful. I made my own cream cheese frosting for the cake. Got rave reviews. Will make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erin
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This is a great recipe! This cake turned out moist, fluffy, and very flavorful! I made this for my daughter's 2nd birthday and we all loved it! For the cake I followed the recipe with 2 minor exceptions: (1) I used funfetti white cake because that's what I had on hand and (2) I baked 12 cupcakes and the remaining batter I baked in an 8x8 pan instead of 3 9-inch pans. I loved the strawberry taste! I used frozen strawberries as the recipe stated - I just thawed them at room temperature first and then pureed them in the blender before adding to the cake batter (next time I'll also strain the puree through some cheesecloth to get rid of the seeds - not horrible in the cake at all, I just noticed a few and thought I'd take them out next time I make this). I did not use the frosting recipe, I have a favorite vanilla frosting recipe that I used instead. I am making this cake again for my daughter's party in a couple of weeks... this recipe is a definite keeper, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
nothing but ABSOLUTE 5 STAR reviews. All my friends love it and it really does deserve to be labeled 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Great taste, but it was more like brownie consistency than cake - very dense. I don't know if it was from my alterations or if it was the cake in general. I didn't want a whole cup of oil in the cake, so I used 1/2 cup applesauce, and I used 5 oz fresh pureed strawberries instead of frozen. Those were my only changes to the cake, and my result was awesome flavor but very dense. I didn't use the frosting - instead I put a layer of lemon pie filling and a layer of cool whip on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I used a French Vanilla cake mix for the base (what I had) and 1# fresh strawberries, pureed, holding a few back for decoration. I put all of the puree into the cake batter. I put it in a bundt pan and baked for 1 hour. I made the Satiny Chocolate Glaze from this site to drizzle over. The cake was extremely moist and dense; think poundcake. It didn't rise as high as a "usual" bundt cake. We don't like things too sweet and it wasn't. 5 stars as it was so moist. I was hesitant to make it because a pink cake doesn't do anything for me visually. I've always had this aversion to them but if someone asked me to make a Strawberry Cake, this would definitely be it. The not-too-sweet glaze went very well with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Very Nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Cake was amazing! I did follow another user's advice of only using 2 tbsp of strawberry puree for the frosting and I was not disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I've never baked this cake however I've used the strawberry frosting recipe plenty of times, which is awesome! I followed Ramajohn's review and only used 2 tbsp of strawberry puree for the frositng.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States