Strawberry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
I loved this recipe. Have been looking for a strawberry cake recipe that is similar to what my mother-in-law used to make. It was perfect. Tasted just the same. I used frozen/sweetened strawberries from last season. All I had to do is squeeze out the excess juice. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
Excellent recipe! I cut the oil down to 1/2 cup and used only 2- 9" pans and it worked out just fine. I used strawberry Cool Whip rather than frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
Wonderful cake! Everyone loved it. Easy and beautiful, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DManfredi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
I followed the direction of the other reviews and strained the strawberries prior to putting them in the cake batter. I alternated the strawberry layers with white chocolate layers, made the filling from the Whipped Cream Frosting on this site, and put strawberries layered in the filling and fanned out on top. A HIT at my friend's Baby Shower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
I used this recipe for the top and bottom layers of a 3-layer birthday cake. I added a package of cream cheese to another box of white cake mix and used half of the batter for the middle layer; used Cool Whip in between the layers and strawberry frosting for the outside. I garnished the top with a strawberry and curled pink and white ribbon. It was beautiful AND yummy! *10/24/2004: 5 months later and I'm STILL hearing about this cake at least twice a week and getting requests for it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
2 cups of confectioner's sugar for the icing??? Yeah, right. I used almost an entire bag of sugar, and still could have used more! This was such a frustrating cake for such a simple taste. I don't think I'll make this one again, unless I use a different icing. Way too much trouble for what it's worth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
This cake was too tart. I didn't like it at all. And it comes out a hotpink color that's hideous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
Okay, this frosting just doesn't work! I just couldn't get it to thicken up to any semblance of a normal frosting. I put it on the cake anyway, and it just looked awful. But, the cake has potential. Use a different frosting and keep the cake recipe. If you attempt the frosting, be prepared to use 2 boxes of confectioner's sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2004
wow! this cake was amazing! i read the reviews prior to making the cake and found that a few people thought the frosting was too sweet. i added 3/4 of the frozen strawberries to the cake batter and only 1/3 to the frosting, after mixing i found that the frosting was a little too sweet for me, so i added 2 cups of strawberry flavored cool whip and it was so good! i couldnt believe how good of a dessert this was thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2004
I've made this recipe twice and both times used fresh strawberries. The first time I made it, I used the icing recipe listed. It was horrible and required a lot of modifications (should have listened to the other reviewers). This time I used the cream cheese icing from this site and it worked perfectly. I made three 9" layers; pureed the strawberries and strained it to remove the seeds and added it to the batter. I added a bit of the puree to a small portion of the cream cheese icing to test, but decided I preferred the icing without it. I added sliced strawberries with the icing in between the layers and I garnished with chocolate covered whole strawberries. Stunning presentation and amazing taste to boot. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBHOLT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States