Strawberry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I made these into cupcakes, I used a cup butter instead of oil, and Fresh Strawberries put in the food processor to make it taste more homemade and less "out of a box". I also didn't use the icing, instead I used cream cheese frosting and for a little something extra I used McCormick Strawberry Extract instead of Vanilla Flavor. I sliced thin pieces of the left over stawberries and place them in the middle they were gorgeous and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by weekendcook
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This is awesome! I made cupcakes and used whipped cream icing. This is perfect for when you're having a strawberry craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hope, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
I made this cake for the first time and followed the recipe...I should have read the reviews first (live and learn). I used frozen strawberries as the recipe called for. The cake still turned out excellant, but fresh strawberries would have probably been much better. It is the moistest cake I have ever eaten! The icing (if you want to call it that!) was another story. What a mess! Before even attempting to put it on the cake (and I made the 3 layer one) I added 3/4 of a tub of Cool Whip I had to try to thicken it up and get a better consistency. Trying to frost it was a disaster. The layers kept sliding around because the icing was so runny. And trying to frost the sides was horrible...the frosting just kept pooling onto the bottom of the plate. I finally gave up and put the whole mess in the frig. I thought maybe it would be a little easier to work with if it was cold. It was, but I hadn't quite straightened the layers out them when I put the cake in the frig, so the cake looked like the leaning tower of pisa! I managed to get the rest of the cake frosted. When I presented it at my family party, I apologized for the look of the cake, but hoped it tasted better than it looked. I WAS RIGHT! It was absolutely delicious! Everyone loved it...even the icing. Although next time I will probably just use Cool Whip. All in all, it was a delicious cake, albeit not a very pretty one with that slippery icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Trenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Was ok, made for valentines day. Everyone just kind of picked at it. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
AWESOME! So good....made them into cupcakes and skipped the frosting and just used regular white from a can to save time. Used fresh strawberries. Everyone loved them and they were quick to go. Some people even had 3! Would definitely make again. A winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Ok but very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was a good recipe. A little too sweet for me but everyone else loved it. I had trouble getting the frosting to work out so I used cream cheese frosting and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EH
Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Oak Ridge, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
Ive made this for 2 occasions in the last week and everyone raves about it. It tastes so fresh. I used frozen strawberries, mashed well , and some slices between the layers. This really gives it the fresh strawberry flavor. I used the Whipped cream cream cheese frosting from this site and it was perfect!! My husband has asked for it AGAIN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
My guests and husband thought it was very good...some had seconds. I thought it was o.k. The icing was too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I have been making this cake for years. My frosting is 1 stick of butter with 4 cups of powdered sugar with a little vanilla. I let the cake cool only for 5 or 10 minutes, then pour the frosting on. Makes for a very moist cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States