Strawberry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I made this recipe into cupcakes. It was very good. I didn't use the icing recipe though. Instead I used a strawberry cream cheese icing recipe from a cookbook I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This cake is moist and flavorful but it is also very sweet. I recommend frosting it with Cool Whip with about a half a cup of pureed strawberries folded in. I think frosting made with powdered sugar is way too sweet for this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Running Springs, California, USA
Living In: Star, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
OMG this cake was GREAT. I made it for a friend on her b-day and now I have other friends requesting it for theirs. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
this cake rocked, it was bursting w/ strawberry flavor and very moist, and people could not stop complimenting. This will now be the only strawberry cake i make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This is an awesome cake!!! I was nervous about the frosting but after discussing it with my mom she gave me a few hints. I made the frosting like the reviewer Diana suggested "My frosting is 1 stick of butter with 4 cups of powdered sugar with a little vanilla." My mom's hints to help cut the sweetness is to add a tad bit of salt or lemon juice. I ended up using about a tablespoon of concentrated lemon juice to the frosting and it turned out GREAT! Since I used fresh strawberries the cake was perfect and the icing was sweetened to my taste. The frosting made too much since I used a 9x13 pan but would be plenty for a multi-layer cake. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Didn't really care too much for this cake. It was way too heavy, but the flavor was good. My husband loved it though. I figure if I'm gonna cheat and use a packaged cake mix I will just follow the directions on the box and just add the jello powder and strawberries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caryl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
I love this cake!! I made it several times for my family and for potlucks at work. Everyone really likes it and they request it on all occasions. I didn't make any changes to the actual cake recipe, but I do cheat on the icing. I use store bought whipped cream cheese icing and mix it well with a few strawberries. It makes a really fluffy, creamy stawberry flavored icing and the cake is wonderfully moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
The taste of this cake was excellent. The only problem I had was with the icing. Trying to ice the sides of the cake was so hard because the icing was too running and dripped down to the bottom of the plate. However, the cake is great and I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
I made these into cupcakes, I used a cup butter instead of oil, and Fresh Strawberries put in the food processor to make it taste more homemade and less "out of a box". I also didn't use the icing, instead I used cream cheese frosting and for a little something extra I used McCormick Strawberry Extract instead of Vanilla Flavor. I sliced thin pieces of the left over stawberries and place them in the middle they were gorgeous and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States