Strawberry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I just love this cake. I have been looking for an outstanding strawberry cake recipe to make for my daughter's 3rd birthday party and I will be making this one. A few suggestions though: I used an entire 14 oz bag of thawed (frozen)strawberries and just mashed them with a fork. I then eyeballed them and threw half of the strawberries into the cake mix and half into the "icing". It came out perfect. Another thing...based on the reviews, I think that people are upset about the icing because they are expecting an "icing" consitency. This is actually a combination glaze/icing and has a texture all it's own. It's not meant to be think, but more like satin. I put about a stick of real butter, half the mashed strawberries, a splash of good vanilla, a splash of lemon juice (this cuts some of the sweetness)and added powder sugar while mixing until thickened to my taste. It turned out soooooo delicious!! The cake is absolutely gorgeous, a perfect color of pink. If you want a great, rich strawberry cake, you've got to give this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by danflores
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This cake is ridiculously amazing. I've made it on multiple special occasions and always gotten praise for it. It's rich, moist, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danflores

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I made this recipe into cupcakes. It was very good. I didn't use the icing recipe though. Instead I used a strawberry cream cheese icing recipe from a cookbook I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
This cake is moist and flavorful but it is also very sweet. I recommend frosting it with Cool Whip with about a half a cup of pureed strawberries folded in. I think frosting made with powdered sugar is way too sweet for this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Running Springs, California, USA
Living In: Star, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
OMG this cake was GREAT. I made it for a friend on her b-day and now I have other friends requesting it for theirs. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
this cake rocked, it was bursting w/ strawberry flavor and very moist, and people could not stop complimenting. This will now be the only strawberry cake i make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This is an awesome cake!!! I was nervous about the frosting but after discussing it with my mom she gave me a few hints. I made the frosting like the reviewer Diana suggested "My frosting is 1 stick of butter with 4 cups of powdered sugar with a little vanilla." My mom's hints to help cut the sweetness is to add a tad bit of salt or lemon juice. I ended up using about a tablespoon of concentrated lemon juice to the frosting and it turned out GREAT! Since I used fresh strawberries the cake was perfect and the icing was sweetened to my taste. The frosting made too much since I used a 9x13 pan but would be plenty for a multi-layer cake. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Didn't really care too much for this cake. It was way too heavy, but the flavor was good. My husband loved it though. I figure if I'm gonna cheat and use a packaged cake mix I will just follow the directions on the box and just add the jello powder and strawberries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caryl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
I love this cake!! I made it several times for my family and for potlucks at work. Everyone really likes it and they request it on all occasions. I didn't make any changes to the actual cake recipe, but I do cheat on the icing. I use store bought whipped cream cheese icing and mix it well with a few strawberries. It makes a really fluffy, creamy stawberry flavored icing and the cake is wonderfully moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States