Strawberry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by jennifer fortune
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Rave reviews! Everyone could not get enough of this cake! The only changes I made were from other reviews suggestions... I added cream cheese to the icing and mixed whipped cream and pureed strawberries as the filing. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I wasn't sure about this cake as I wanted to make one from scratch and it called for adding a cake mix--I shouldn't have worried! Took it to an adult birthday party where cake isn't expected to be a hit...everone loved it! I didn't have frozen strawberries, used one can and some fresh...had about 5 people ask me for the recipe and 2 requestes to bring it for their birthdays! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This is so delicious!!! It is so moist! I used whole frozen (but thawed) unsweetened strawberries. Everyone loved this cake! I used the "Cool Whipped Frosting" using fat free whipped cream and it was still awesome! I put the frosting directly on the cake (not adding strawberries to it) I chopped white chocolate chips and topped the frosting with them, and then with sliced strawberries. These flavors were amazing together! I am bringing the leftovers to the office tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Long Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This cake tastes very good, but it's not very pretty. I used a 9x13 pan instead of making 3 layers. I don't recommend trying to use this icing on a 3 layer cake, but it works well for a 9x13 cake. As others have said, it's more of a glaze than an icing. I used fresh strawberries. Next time I think I'll puree the strawberries that are in the cake and some of the strawberries in the glaze. I liked the look of strawberry slices in the glaze though, so I'll leave some of those whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheddabizcuit

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This is a really good cake. I used fresh strawberries for both cake and frosting, and added a tsp of vanilla to the frosting. I also made cupcakes, they turned out very nice as well. I would not hesitate to bring this to a potluck or get-together, it is fairly light and full of flavor without any cloying sweetness. And who doesn't like strawberry :-) Caveat: The word "frosting" is a bit of a misnomer here. This makes more of a glaze. If you are expecting something fluffy and thick, you should ice the cake with a different frosting recipe. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flannery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Fun to make and to try but this doesn't rate in the "Recipe Hall of Fame." The cake itself is moist and flavorful, but I couldn't quite get past the artificial taste and color. Also, given the reviews about the frosting being a "sloppy mess," I took other reviewers' suggestions and used "Cool Whipped Frosting," substituting strawberry extract for the vanilla and adding 1/3 cup of strawberry puree. I made this in two layers, and put a layer of fresh, sliced strawberries over the filling in between the layers. I decorated it with just a few fresh strawberries with the stems. I could see this "pretty in pink" cake as a real crowd pleaser for a little girl's birthday party, and wish I had come across this when my daughter was younger. All around, not much payoff or reward for the effort. To me, it just screams "fake."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I made this for my daughter's 15th birthday party and it was delicious. The frosting was runny and looked a mess but they had fun calling it the ugly cake and she even posted a picture of it on her my space page! Will make it again complete with the ugly frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Made this for my daughter's second birthday. We all enjoyed it and it was very simple to make. I just wish the flavor was better. I used "Cool Whip Frosting" off this site in between the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I made this exactly as stated except that I pureed the strawberries first. I think next time I will add more strawberries than the recipe calls for... I didn't think there were enough. Otherwise, the cake part of this recipe was excellent and quite tasty. I did not make the icing after reading the other reviewers, opting instead for Cool Whipped Frosting from this site. It was the perfect choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seneca, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I made this cake last night at my house and it's gone today! I have 2 requests for the recipe already! The only thing I did differently was make a strawberry cream cheese icing with 2 3oz. pkg of cream cheese, a stick of butter, teaspoon of vanilla, and measured out powdered sugar to around 5 cups. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States