Strawberry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by adoucette
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
Very tasty. I would use the other suggestions on the frosting ended up being very runny but overall very delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adoucette
Living In: Tazewell, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2015
Awful is the best I can say about this cake and frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My3Boys
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
The cake was delicious and beautiful. The reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because the icing recipe was off in my opinion. It did not make enough to ice a 2-layer (much less a 3-layer) cake as stated. Many reviewers made this in a 9x13 pan so I'm guessing there was plenty of icing for that size. Also, I'm SO very glad that I read the reviews about pureeing the strawberries first and cutting back on the strawberries in the icing to prevent it from being too loose. I used about half of the pureed strawberries in the cake and added them by the spoonful in the icing until it was the consistency I wanted. I ended up using about 3 tablespoons in the original icing recipe but had to make another half of a batch to completely frost the cake well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My3Boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
I think it would taste better without the jello and I agree that the icing is too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
This cake is So GOOD!!! Very moist! Iv made this recipe several times with different flavors Of Jello! My favorite is when I used orange omg! It tasted just like a creamsicle :) You cant go wrong with this recipe if you want a Delicious easy cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2015
I pureed the strawberries and used 1/2 cup in the cake like RAMAJOHN said and made this for a co-worker who ordered a birthday cake for his wife. On Monday he stepped into my cubicle and just looked at me. I was scared at first, but he said it was amazing and had more orders for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Easy & nice change of pace. Used sugar free Jello & made these into muffins. Diced the strawberries instead of pureeing them, which added nice texture. Also added a dollop of strawberry preserves as a "surprise" in the center (filled muffin cup halfway, added preserves to center with a spoon then added more batter to cover preserves and fill to top). This was a nice surprise that the kids enjoyed and my daughter had fun making these with me. Thx Judalee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I've been looking for a good strawberry cake recipe for years and tie one is by far the best. And it's very easy to make. I've made this cake about half a dozen times for birthdays, Valentine's Day and just "because" and it always turns out great and it rarely sits for longer than 3 or 4 days before it's eaten. A few of the changes I've made is to use fresh strawberries when in season; but frozen works fine in a pinch. I also chop the strawberries by hand rather than purée them. Another change is that I don't mess around with the frosting and instead use Cool Whip cheese cake whip cream frosting. One thing to note as well is that this cake takes a bit longer than the recipe calls for so you should keep an eye on it/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This is the exact recipe my mom used when I was growing up. I can't eat other strawberry cakes now, even from bakeries. It's not TOO sweet like most are and it's very moist!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
The women in my family have been making this strawberry cake for 4 generations! It is a family favorite; my daughter has even asked for it to be made into her wedding cake! I struggle, though, with the frosting. It is so runny! I warm the butter, dissolve another small box of strawberry gelatin in it, and add a pinch of salt. The gelatin sets up and creates a whole new texture. Mine has never been fluffy like the photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States