Strawberry Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Easy & nice change of pace. Used sugar free Jello & made these into muffins. Diced the strawberries instead of pureeing them, which added nice texture. Also added a dollop of strawberry preserves as a "surprise" in the center (filled muffin cup halfway, added preserves to center with a spoon then added more batter to cover preserves and fill to top). This was a nice surprise that the kids enjoyed and my daughter had fun making these with me. Thx Judalee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I've been looking for a good strawberry cake recipe for years and tie one is by far the best. And it's very easy to make. I've made this cake about half a dozen times for birthdays, Valentine's Day and just "because" and it always turns out great and it rarely sits for longer than 3 or 4 days before it's eaten. A few of the changes I've made is to use fresh strawberries when in season; but frozen works fine in a pinch. I also chop the strawberries by hand rather than purée them. Another change is that I don't mess around with the frosting and instead use Cool Whip cheese cake whip cream frosting. One thing to note as well is that this cake takes a bit longer than the recipe calls for so you should keep an eye on it/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This is the exact recipe my mom used when I was growing up. I can't eat other strawberry cakes now, even from bakeries. It's not TOO sweet like most are and it's very moist!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
The women in my family have been making this strawberry cake for 4 generations! It is a family favorite; my daughter has even asked for it to be made into her wedding cake! I struggle, though, with the frosting. It is so runny! I warm the butter, dissolve another small box of strawberry gelatin in it, and add a pinch of salt. The gelatin sets up and creates a whole new texture. Mine has never been fluffy like the photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
The flavor was good, but the texture was definitely off. It was very dense and not at all light and fluffy. It definitely didn't make 3- 9 inch layers either,I got 2- 8inch rounds out of it and they only baked for about 30 minutes. I will continue my search for a home made strawberry cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tiffany t
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Delicious! Made this for my wife for her birthday and she loved it. The best strawberry cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffany t

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Culpeper, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I received a lot of compliments on this cake. Delicious! I didn't use their icing recipe. I used 1- 8 ounce cream cheese (room temp), 1/2 c confectionary sugar, 1/2 bag strawberries; beat until well blended then folded in a (small) tub of cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I should've realized that the amount of strawberries for the frosting was too much for the low amount of powdered sugar. Unfortunately, I used the rest of what I had and didn't have more to fix it. Fortunately, I had a block of cream cheese and it saved the icing and is so good! I will forever add cream cheese to this frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I do it in a 13x9 pan and it's the best thing I've ever tasted! Always comes out nice and moist! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nita Cooper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mjk79
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Made cupcakes for a potluck, and they were a huge success! They're light, fluffy, and perfectly moist. The jello does mean they have a distinctly artificial taste to them, so if you want real strawberry taste, this is not the recipe for you. I don't mind it, but it was much stronger than I'd hoped. I also did not make the frosting, and instead opted for a honey vanilla bean frosting found elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States