Strawberry Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
WOW! This was excellent. Followed the recipe to the letter and the cake was perfect. Just had to cook it longer then stated - about 50 minutes. I made this with the whipped cream cheese frosting recipie from this site and there was NO cake left and many asked for the recipe. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I made this for Easter and got raves about it. I've made many strawberry cakes but this is the best. I even had one friend ask me to bake it for her wedding cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKY584

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Delicious!!! Made it in a Bundt pan and baked it at 375 degrees for 45 minutes. Did not change a thing. Iced it with the Vanilla icing recipe and I add 1/2 tspn of butter flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanMarie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This was a great looking cake- super bright pink! However I found it to be a little too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I'm a beginner baker and decided to try this recipe out. I made cupcakes rather than cake, and I didn't use any strawberries due to their price (being out of season and all). I also didn't pay close enough attention to the ingredients and ended up with approximately 2 1/2, or slightly less, ounces of gelatin rather than 3. Vegetable oil was also substituted with canola oil, but otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. The batter was thick (though looked beautiful!), and I worried the cupcakes would end up dry -- and they did. I'm not sure how to fix that, not knowing much about baking. They taste great though, and they smell fantastic! They're sweet with a slightly tart taste from the gelatin. I iced them with a mixture of icing sugar and milk (and one drop of red food colouring to make it a nice pale pink colour). I'll definitely make these again with real strawberries once I get the chance. Did I mention they smell fantastic?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
So dang awesome! I used 1 cup frozen strawberries. Also, I made this along w/ Whipped Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe from this site and substituted strawberry cream cheese for regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lasalle, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
5 stars for me! Just made this for my daughter's sixth birthday and she proclaimed it the "best cake ever mom"......Only things I altered were I used french vanilla cake mix as per other reviews and added more strawberries (aprox 1 cup) .....frosted with cream cheese whipped icing and topped with fresh strawberries - thanks for posting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Delicious! And I'm not usually a big cake fan!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Good cake. I will make it again. I did make my own frosting with cream cheese powder sugar and fresh strawberry's and was really good too. My kids and husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, Missouri, USA
Living In: El Dorado Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States