Strawberry Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I made this for my little sister's birthday! I used added vanilla pudding between the two layers and used cream cheese frosting with strawberries on top. My sister loved it and my dad said it was the best cake he's had in a long time! It turned out great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I rated a 4 because I based my recipe on this one. I do not use box mixed cake. Instead I used grandma's recipe and did as Miss Molly said. I used a little over a pint of strawberries, pureed and used that instead of the oil. Fantastic without the fat! My use more strawberies next time. I tried finding a recipe with out gelitin, first because I din't have it, and second, I thought was was the point of it. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I read other reviews about the sweetness of this cake, so I used 1/3 box of jello mix instead of the whole box. Also, I pureed a whole container of strawberries to mix into the batter. Also, I used fresh strawberries instead of frozen. I used a buttercake mix and included a stick of butter in the batter (not the healthiest...but it was for Valentine's day...it's a special occasion!!) I used a buttercream icing (storebought) and put fresh raspberries and strawberries on top. It came out beautifully & the cake was soft, moist, and not too sweet. You could really taste the real strawberries in the mix. Overall, this is a great cake for something a little out of the ordinary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisee11087

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Loved this! I would use more frozen strawberries, and I had to increase the baking time by about 10 minutes. I used a previous suggestion to put the whipped cream cream cheese frosting on top (on allrecipes.com) and then I topped it with quartered fresh strawberries. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisahughes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
good, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Very good!! I haven't even tried it yet but based on the batter (yes I always taste the batter) I know it will be delicious. I used french vanilla cake mix and half the gelatin as others suggested. Yes, half the gelatin is plenty -- I'm in my 20s and definitely not afraid of sweetness but forgot how sweet straight gelatin was. I didn't have buttermilk so used a little less than half a cup of milk..I'm no cook so I hoped it would be a decent replacement. I just put the strawberries in with the batter and the mixer cut the pieces small enough. I also used this for cupcakes and it seemed like parts of the cupcake hadn't cooked all the way or were moist..not sure if it was b/c of the milk or what but I don't mind that. The reason I made this was because I had bought the duncan hines strawberry cake mix but got the idea to look up how to make a strawberry cake "from scratch" and found this. However, I'm going to use the recipe for icing from their "strawberry refrigerator cake" which uses vanilla pudding and cool whip as the icing. Thanks for a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Made this for a co-worker's birthday and it was awesome! Sweet but not too sweet. Next time I think I'll try it with fresh strawberries instead of frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Perfect cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SaveRoom4Pie
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This is soooooo-oo yummy. I used the Rich Chocolate Frosting recipe for the frosting. I'm so happy to find a recipe that calls for frozen strawberries, I bought a bunch for 50 cents a bag!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaveRoom4Pie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
We did not like this cake. It came out really dry although I followed the recipe exactly, had to pry it out of the pan in chunks. And we all thought it was too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States