Strawberry Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This cake was very very delicious. I made with 1 1/2 cups fresh strawberries diced up fine instead of the frozen and I took in other sugg and used a french vanilla cake mix. I doubled the recipe as well and only used one box of the gelatin and it was perfect. I made 3- 9 inch round cakes and my kids made a bunch of heart cupcakes for themselves. I used vanilla instant vanilla pudding for the filling and topped with "whipped cream cream cheese frosting" from this site. Out of this world cake! Everyone ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Photo by LOUIE75
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
I got RAVE reviews at work with the cake. I actually had some co-workers upset because it went so quick and there wasn't enough for everyone. One comment was "it was the best cake he has ever had"! I used the pinapple filling recipe from this site and just subsituted strawberries for the pinapple and then used a traditional buttercream frosting with strained strawberry puree instead of milk or water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
Excellent. I made a few changes. I used fresh strawberries and pureed them, then omitted the oil. I actually made this into cupcakes and they are excellent. They baked for about 21 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss  Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
I have been told I make excellent cakes and after reading the reviews on this cake I decided to make it. Maybe it was my fault but I had to throw this cake out it was awful. Sickening sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
I made this for a bridal shower it was a big hit. Many people asked me for the recipe. I doubled the ingredients, except for the gelatin as other reviewers said it was too sweet. I made a three layer 9" cake and then about a dozen cupcakes. (I used vanilla pudding for the filling and smothered it with two whipped up containers of cream cheese frosting. Pile pink carnations on the top and it almost looks as good as it tastes!) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHCRIPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
This was a fantastic cake!!! i used a bit more strawberries than the receipe called for and I made a frosting which was white icing and cool whip and then dazzled it up with shaved white chocolate. Quite a site! I plan to make this for my daughters birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
After trying several strawberry cake recipes, this one was the best. I used fresh garden strawberries and will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Made this for my daughter's 5th birthday party. I pureed 1 cup of diced fresh strawberries (rather than frozen) and substituted the white cake mix with french vanilla (per other members' suggestions). I whipped white icing and Cool Whip to ice the cake and decorated with fresh strawberries. It was a hit with the kids and many adults. I only gave it four stars, though, because I personally felt it was overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
this cake is soo easy to make and so lite- its the perfect girls cake/ summer cake to end a great feast. if you ike it sweet- add strawberry whipped frosting, its just superb and soo easy to make. it just looks and tastes like you've slaved in the kitchen all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States