Strawberry Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I followed other reviewers advice and only used half of the strawberry jello, but kept everything else the same. I made this for a friends birthday, and did not get to try any of it, so I am basing my review on how much they liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lauramcinnish
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This recipe turned out pretty good expect I followed the directions on the cake mix instead of adding the extra oil and eggs. I baked them in mini square pans and they turned out really cute and bright pink! If your brave try adding a few drops of almond extract for extra taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauramcinnish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I baked this cake for my niece's birthday and it was a huge hit! Even those who don't typically like strawberry cake came back for seconds. The reason I gave it 4 stars is because I followed the reviewers suggestion and used only half of the jello. It would have been too sweet for my family with the whole packet. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This cake is dangerous! Made it exactly per the recipe, topped each piece Reddi-Whip and thawed strawberry/blueberry mixture. My husband ate 3 pieces!! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Yummy and easy cake! I didn't have buttermilk, so I added 1Tbs. to 2% milk and let it sit for 5 minutes before adding it to the mix--a perfect buttermilk substitute anytime. I also used about 3/4 cup of fresh strawberries from the garden (the kind that are juicy, sweet, & red on the INSIDE too!), and minced them before adding them to the batter. I topped my cake with the lemon glaze from the "Lemon Glazed Cake" recipe and it was a nice Strawberry-Lemon pairing, though pretty sweet/tart! Might have liked some not-too-sweet whipped cream with it, to cut the sweet/tartness a bit or just use cream cheese frosting instead next time. I gave it 4 stars because I think fresh strawberries are in order, and it doesn't suggest a topping/frosting/pairing to serve it with. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusySpoons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Wonderful! Even though the strawberries were thawed, they were still whole; so I did beat the batter until it was well blended. The cupcakes and the loaf I made from the batter were very fluffy, moist and delicious even with out icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cahlm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Streamwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Used buttercream frosting to top it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie78

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Tulare, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
The cake was so so for me. I used the whole gelatin but used cut up fresh strawberries instead of frozen. I frosted the cake with chocolate pudding and coolwhip mixed together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAmy1033

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cody, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I made these as cupcakes for this past mother's day and they were a HUGE hit!! It's made with store bought ingredients and with the fresh strawberries baked into them, they really had a from scratch feel. I used half the gelatin and have made this with yellow cake mix and white cake mix. Both are great! I also used the "Cream cheese Frosting II" from this website and went together perfectly!! I'm working on a batch right now for my boyfriend's birthday! I never liked strawberry cake before this too! This is a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Very good! Questioned whether the jello would give a fake flavor, but delicious. Made in two layers--Also used the pineapple filling (substituting strawberries) and frosted w/ cream cheese icing! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States