Strawberry Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
This is so much better than boxed strawberry cake mix!!! The only thing I changed was to double the amount of strawberries (4 ounces only equaled 3 large flash frozen berries) and I pureed them so there were no icky wet chunks of berries. Love this cake paired with cream cheese icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I've made this cake and another similar for two of my boys' b-days cakes. It is fab! I wonder if the woman who said it was "sickening sweet and had to throw it out" used sweetened strawberries? That would definitely make it overly sweet. Use fresh or flash frozen - no sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I loved this cake! I made it for a little girl's party and everyone absolutely loved it. I expected it to be really sweet, as another reviewer stated but it wasn't overly sweet at all. I don't even like strawberry cake and I couldn't stay out of this! Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I love this cake. Growing up every year for my bithday my grandma would make me a strawberry cake and as I got older she got older and has been unable to make. I found this receipe, I made a 16 inch round, and I barely had enough for 20 people. Everyone raved about this cake. For the last 3 years I have been making strawberry cake for my son's birthday. I have tried lots of strawberry receipes and this has been the best one so far. I tried this receipe because of the buttermilk, I figured it was something different. Since trying this receipe I have decided to keep the tradition going and my 3 young boys are having strawberry cake as well for their birthday. As far as icing I used butter, confectioners sugar, and strawberry puree. I started with 1 stick of butter, 3 tablespoons of puree, did not measure confec. sugar just kept adding,and mixing until it was thick. What a delightful sugar rush..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Great recipe! I also modified it a bit. I also halved the amount of strawberry jello. Additionally, I used a butter cake mix instead and added a softened stick of butter to the batter. I used frozen strawberries in syrup. After they thawed, I drained the juice into a cup and saved it. After the cake had baked in the oven, I poked holes through the cake with a large toothpick and drizzled the juice across the top, then "frosted" with cool whip. Fabulous! The butter and strawberry juice made it so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Delicious. I followed another reviewer's suggestion of using the Whipped cream cheese frosting and the take turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
use sugar free jello and cream cheese whipped frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Great! I used french vanilla cake, the entire 16 oz package of thawed-frozen strawberries, and 1/2 of the jello packet as other members suggested. I made it for my nephew's birthday party and again for my best friends party. Excellent reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Easy and delicious. I topped it with whipped cream and doubled the strawberries. The perfect Easter dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by megnrn
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I made these as cupcakes with butter cream frosting. These froze very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States