Strawberry Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I am not a big strawberry cake fan, and I thought this this cake was just okay - not amazing as many reviewers claimed. Maybe it's because I don't care for strawberry cake. I followed the recipe exactly (except sub French Vanilla cake for white) and frosted the cake with a mixture of cool whip, cream cheese and strawberry jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This cake is DELICIOUS!! I made a cream cheese frosting using strawberry flavored cream cheese and it was incredible!! One of the best cakes I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly and I was surprised at how thick the batter was. I baked this recipe in a 6x6 and a 4.4x4.5 pan and it burned on the top and was still batter in the middle. I threw it out. This may have worked in a 9x13 pan but most cake recipes are more versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I just made this cake today, and it is sooo good! I read other reviews and used French Vanilla cake mix and only half a packet of sugar-free strawberry jello. I baked it for 24 minutes in two 9-inch round pans. I also defrosted and pureed the strawberries (about 1 cup). I mixed all the liquid ingredients first and then stirred in the dry. Mine didn't turn out the bright color of the picture, but more of a pretty medium pink color. I also frosted with the Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting recipe from this site. Try this recipe! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Absolutley Divine !!! I made this cake for my sons birthday and everyone raved about it and wanted the recipe. I did as other posters did and used 1 1/2 C. fresh strawberries and doubled the recipe. I could have eaten the whole thing myself. Wonderful recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
when i read all the positive reviews i expected this cake to be delicious, the best strawberry cake ever. But it wasn't all that. I used fresh strawberries instead and used french vanilla cake mix. The cake was soft, but the flavor was somewhat unusual. Somewhat bland, not much of a flavor. Regular strawberry cake mix actually tastes better than this recipe. Its not a cake that I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
this cake was good. i used a box of butter cake (all i had) and used fresh strawberry. i will make this again and use vanilla cake mix. i made about 40 mini cupcakes and 12 regular cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This cake is yummy! I added 4 tbs of butter and 2 oz of cream cheese. Also added half a cup of the puree strawberries in the mix. I made butter cream icing which I added about a half cup of the puree also. So moist and yummy. definantly a keeper. Thanks for sharing it with us. yaba
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yaba
Living In: Ninety Six, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This recipe was great, I just made a few changes & took a few suggestions to make it more healthful and it was still amazing, I made it for my friend's 25th birthday and it got raves! I used unsweet apple sauce in the place of the oil, 2 eggs and 2 egg whites instead of 4 whole eggs and I used half a .6 oz package sugar-free strawberry jello and it was just right. For the filling I used the recipe for pineapple cake filling on here and substituted chopped, thawed frozen strawberries for the pineapple but still used the pineapple jiuce andI used Splenda instead of white sugar. And finally for the frosting I used the recipe for Cool Whipped Frosting on here, but used White Chocolate Pudding mix instead of Vanilla and I used Free Cool Whip for the container of whipped topping. I garnished the cake with fresh strawberry slices and just a touch of white chocolate shavings. The cake ended up being a treat for the tastebuds and the eyes, and it wasn't terribly guilt inducing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Charles Town, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This is a great version of this classic recipe. I chose to try this one over my original, that I've used for years, because of the buttermilk. I find that buttermilk gives baked goods a nice texture. Will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States