Strawberry Cake Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
this is a great recipe! I was crunched for time and after reading reviews that say it has to sit in the fridge, i did alter it a bit. I only added 1/2 a cup of water, and 3/4 cup of sugar. I didn't use any cornstarch, but i added 1 cup of fresh strawberries and 1/2 strained strawberry puree. I also zested and juiced an orange and a teaspoon of lemon juice. After cooking it for 25 mins I put the pot in an ice water bath for 10 minutes and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This was amazing! I changed nothing about this. I cooled in the fridge for a while then put it in my sons birthday cake. We even used the leftovers and made strawberry short cake for dessert a couple days later. It was perfect and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
A truly magnificent cake-filling! I made this for a client and they just called to tell me how absolutely delicious the cake filling is. I was a bit nervous when they asked for this type of filling, since I had never made it before, but it came out perfect and it was super easy to make. This recipe is a definite keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
This recipe was super easy and turned out great! It smells much more flavorful than it is, though. I ended up adding a splash of lime juice as suggested by a couple of others to make it a bit sharper flavor as it will be filling a sweet cake. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This recipe thickened up nicely, and it definitely is good to use when you have no filling for a cake on hand. However, even though I only used 1/2 C of sugar, it was still a little too sweet. If you are sensitive to sugary foods, maybe use a bit less sugar at first and flavor more later, or use agave to sweeten it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Very good and easy to make. I brought it to a boil to get it to the proper consistency and did not change any ingredients. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This definitely needs to sit in the fridge over night. I made it and a few hours later when I went to put on the cake it went everywhere. :( Tasty but messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Curtis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
A simple, good tasting filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Perfect! Easy and fast! I used fresh strawberries as that was what I had in the house. I made it a day ahead of the cake and it set up great. Only thing I might change in cutting the strawberries a little larger next time. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I used this for my son's bday cake filling, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Strawberry Soda Syrup

Beat back the heat with ice-cold homemade strawberry sodas and lemonade!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States