Strawberry Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Excellent brownies! My first experience with strawberry brownies - will make again. I did purée all of the berries, although added a layer of sliced berries on bottom thinking it would look nice inverted - bad idea. The bottom was just soggy. Lesson learned. I also added some mini semisweet chocolate chips which was a better idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly. It tasted like cocoa powder with a cloying aftertaste of strawberries. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I like the idea of adding strawberry puree to brownie batter, but as a brownie recipe, mine came out more like chocolate cake than a true brownie, even after I added dark chocolate plus the cocoa powder. I'll probably try the idea again, but will find another brownie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Very moist and Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Crane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly as stated, only adding about a 1/4 cup of chocolate syrup to the mix.. came out amazing. crispy on top, soft and moist underneath with bits of sweet strawberry. As a side note, i had to cook mine for close to 43 mins to get it to the right consistency using an 8x8 square glass pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahLaGuera

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Unappealing texture and a very underwhelming taste! The idea is good but I think it would be better executed using a traditional brownie recipe with fresh strawberries folded in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I followed the recipe EXACTLY. They were NOT good. All apologies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I was looking for a recipe to use those strawberries that still have a little life but not much more -- these were interesting but not something I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I love the idea of Strawberry brownies, and I took the advice of others and pureed the strawberries. I always try the batter before I make anything, and it was really tasty. Although when the finished product came out of the oven, I found they tasted too much like coco powder and not enough like chocolate, even after using chocolate chips. Will try again but with semi-sweet baking chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Delicious! I didn't read the reviews until after I had them in the oven, and was slightly unnerved after reading how so many people pureed all of the strawberries or didn't like the texture with whole sliced strawberries. I treated the strawberries exactly how the recipe intends and I am in LOVE with this dessert. I love the slightly strawberry taste of the brownies themselves, and the chunks of sliced strawberries are a fabulous addition. I did use a box of brownie mix, though, because I was out of cocoa powder. I followed the "fudge-like" recipe on the box, minus the water. (so 2 eggs and oil. the strawberry purree essentially replaced the water) The brownie mix I used was verrrry chocolately, which was wonderful, so if making from scratch I would recommend a strong chocolate taste (since I didn't use this brownie recipe, I can't many any suggestions in this regard). I liked baking in a pie dish as well because of the thickness (so 8x8 square pan would also work well, but I would definitely not recommend a 9x13 pan.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States