Strawberry Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This recipe was really a hit. I made the loaves in the two loaf pans as recommended and had enought to last for 1 week. I decreased the oil to 1/4 cup and used 1 cup applesauce instead. This was very, very good. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This is almost identical to a recipe I make and love, so I will post my differences here: 1TBS of cinn instead of tsp, 1c of oil instead of 1 1/4, and 2 packages of strawberries instead of 1. Definitely put in two pans! I don't thaw the berries, then I chop them while frozen, then coat them in a spoonful of flour (removed from the recipe, not extra). This way they remain buoyant. Also, a healthy version is as such: 1c sugar, 2 eggs/2 egg whites, and replace half oil with applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
This recipe has way too much oil in it and too many eggs. I reduced the amount of oil to 1/2 cup but didn't reduce the eggs and it still turned out gummy. Great flavor, just heavy consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilmer, Texas, USA
Living In: Oneida, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly and it had no taste! I had a ton of batter so I made a loaf of bread and muffins. The bread was very mushy on the bottom and the muffins had no taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
A family favorite at the holidays. I do increase the cinnamon to 1 tablespoon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZK65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Not bad, but not great either. Very little strawberry taste to this bread. Also, to get the middle done, the outside gets very crusty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This was really interesting! Real unique bread- and a great way to use up over ripe strawberries. I thought the bread was more like a cake in it's desnisty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shells

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This bread has become a quick and easy favorite in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
Great and easy! Used canned strawberries (drained them of course) and some leftover canned pineapple leftover from the night before (also drained). I thought less sugar would have been better. Next time I think I will reduce it to a cup instead of two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Not bad, but not very stawberry tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States