Strawberry Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
Yeeech! Awful. You cannot tell it's strawberry bread. The strawberries that you mix in cease to exist when it's done and all you're left with is heavy bread with a lot of nuts in it. Don't make it, you'll regret it. I threw it away after a slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
I really love this recipe, I even like to mix it up with some mixed berries also. The only thing I would suggest is to use two loaf pans instead of one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
This bread was absolutely wonderful! A HUGE hit with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This is almost identical to a recipe I make and love, so I will post my differences here: 1TBS of cinn instead of tsp, 1c of oil instead of 1 1/4, and 2 packages of strawberries instead of 1. Definitely put in two pans! I don't thaw the berries, then I chop them while frozen, then coat them in a spoonful of flour (removed from the recipe, not extra). This way they remain buoyant. Also, a healthy version is as such: 1c sugar, 2 eggs/2 egg whites, and replace half oil with applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
This is the same recipe that I have used for more than 15 years. It is great for a tea or brunch served with strawberry butter (strawberry jam, butter and a dot of lemon juice mixed together). I left the pecans out this time to make it more "kid friendly" for my children who despise nuts. Also, I used whole strawberries instead of sliced and tried to chop them up after I added them to the batter. Big problem there -- it also effected the baking so only used sliced or crushed strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2000
This recipemakes a HUGE tasty and moist loaf. I will be sure to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
i don't care for the taste of this bread but a dear friend,loves this bread and i make it for him whenver he asks. i make sure to chop the strawberries so i don't have large lumps at the bottom of the loaf and i make in 2 disposable loaf pans, regular size. this freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2000
This bread was very moist, tasty as well as something a little different and out of the ordinary. Will definitely keep this recipe on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Linz, Oberösterreich, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2001
I didn't like this bread at all, I do not recommend it =-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2000
I had a case of strawberries and I wanted to try something new. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States