Strawberry Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
This recipe was really a hit. I made the loaves in the two loaf pans as recommended and had enought to last for 1 week. I decreased the oil to 1/4 cup and used 1 cup applesauce instead. This was very, very good. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This is almost identical to a recipe I make and love, so I will post my differences here: 1TBS of cinn instead of tsp, 1c of oil instead of 1 1/4, and 2 packages of strawberries instead of 1. Definitely put in two pans! I don't thaw the berries, then I chop them while frozen, then coat them in a spoonful of flour (removed from the recipe, not extra). This way they remain buoyant. Also, a healthy version is as such: 1c sugar, 2 eggs/2 egg whites, and replace half oil with applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
This recipe has way too much oil in it and too many eggs. I reduced the amount of oil to 1/2 cup but didn't reduce the eggs and it still turned out gummy. Great flavor, just heavy consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilmer, Texas, USA
Living In: Oneida, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly and it had no taste! I had a ton of batter so I made a loaf of bread and muffins. The bread was very mushy on the bottom and the muffins had no taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
A family favorite at the holidays. I do increase the cinnamon to 1 tablespoon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZK65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
Not bad, but not great either. Very little strawberry taste to this bread. Also, to get the middle done, the outside gets very crusty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This was really interesting! Real unique bread- and a great way to use up over ripe strawberries. I thought the bread was more like a cake in it's desnisty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shells

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This bread has become a quick and easy favorite in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
Great and easy! Used canned strawberries (drained them of course) and some leftover canned pineapple leftover from the night before (also drained). I thought less sugar would have been better. Next time I think I will reduce it to a cup instead of two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Not bad, but not very stawberry tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Creamy Strawberry Crepes

Delicious and rich - these strawberry and cream crepes are worth every bite.

Zucchini Bread Breakfast Pizza

A delicious, quick, grain-free zucchini breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States