Strawberry Banana Protein Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This is a great smoothie recipe! We like it better than the smoothie shop smoothies! I had to change the recipe because my hand blender could not handle the ingredients with so little liquid, but not because the recipe itself. I used vanilla soy milk and no protein powder, just to avoid overloading my blender. My blender crushed ice fine but I guess whole frozen strawberries are too much- unless I add more liquid or add strawberries one at a time to the other blended ingredients. I may be getting a new blender for this recipe. But the recipe is great. The flavor is great and I love that it is not just a sugar drink, it has protein and the whole almonds add great nutritional value, too. Who needs to pay extra for a supplement when you can drink your own "whole foods". Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I'm doing the flat belly diet so this is a PERFECT recipe for breakfast for me! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIR123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Perfect! All around great combination for a protein smoothie. Everything about this one works; flavor, texture and purpose. Thanks for a great recipe. I'll use this one a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Yum, I really liked this. I used skim milk in place of the water. I was nervous that I'd have chunks of almonds, but my blender did a pretty good job. I only had plain protein powder so I added cinnamon, a touch of vanilla & some ground flax. Good stuff, and a great way to start the day. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This was great!! I followed the directions exactly except I used vanilla powder rather than chocolate. It tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Litchfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Beacon Falls, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Wonderful!! My wife and I loved it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I didn't have whole almonds so I used a 1/4 cup of slivered almonds. I used regular flavored soy-protein instead and added some sugar. This is a good tasting dairy-free smoothie. We usually make yogurt based smoothies. I froze the bananas and strawberries so I didn't even bother with the cup of ice. I was worried about it diluting the flavor too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Excellent smoothie specially after a hard workout because has a lot of protein. The chocolate protein powder gives a nice taste. I wil definitelly make this again and I would love to try with other flavors of protein powder such as vanilla or strawberry. Thanks for the recipe Cookiequeen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This recipe was okay. I make protein smoothies everyday after working out. I liked that this recipe used almonds. That was different. I also used vanilla protein instead of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Horton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This is a great smoothie - It is based on "The Zone Diet" which gives the right balance of protein, carbohydrates, and fats per meal. The idea of the diet is to control insulin and blood sugar levels to keep you full longer. Its a great diet and works well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States