Strawberry Banana Protein Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This is a great smoothie - It is based on "The Zone Diet" which gives the right balance of protein, carbohydrates, and fats per meal. The idea of the diet is to control insulin and blood sugar levels to keep you full longer. Its a great diet and works well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Very good! I used a 1/2 banana, 1 cup strawberries, 4 tablespoons of vanilla protein powder (which equaled 1 full scoop) and increased the water to 6 tablespoons to make it a bit thinner and easier on my blender. I was looking for a good protein recipe I could use for breakfast and yielded just 1 serving, this was exactly what I was looking for. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Thank you!! My husband has been running us into the poorhouse ordering protein shakes every time we are at the gym. He gave this two thumbs up! Thanks again. Did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRUNOSBETH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
This recipe was okay. I make protein smoothies everyday after working out. I liked that this recipe used almonds. That was different. I also used vanilla protein instead of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Horton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Yum, I really liked this. I used skim milk in place of the water. I was nervous that I'd have chunks of almonds, but my blender did a pretty good job. I only had plain protein powder so I added cinnamon, a touch of vanilla & some ground flax. Good stuff, and a great way to start the day. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I'm doing the flat belly diet so this is a PERFECT recipe for breakfast for me! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Perfect! All around great combination for a protein smoothie. Everything about this one works; flavor, texture and purpose. Thanks for a great recipe. I'll use this one a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I didn't have whole almonds so I used a 1/4 cup of slivered almonds. I used regular flavored soy-protein instead and added some sugar. This is a good tasting dairy-free smoothie. We usually make yogurt based smoothies. I froze the bananas and strawberries so I didn't even bother with the cup of ice. I was worried about it diluting the flavor too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This is a great smoothie recipe! We like it better than the smoothie shop smoothies! I had to change the recipe because my hand blender could not handle the ingredients with so little liquid, but not because the recipe itself. I used vanilla soy milk and no protein powder, just to avoid overloading my blender. My blender crushed ice fine but I guess whole frozen strawberries are too much- unless I add more liquid or add strawberries one at a time to the other blended ingredients. I may be getting a new blender for this recipe. But the recipe is great. The flavor is great and I love that it is not just a sugar drink, it has protein and the whole almonds add great nutritional value, too. Who needs to pay extra for a supplement when you can drink your own "whole foods". Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Although I had to modify the recipe, I enjoyed this! I need more protein in my diet and was told to try to supplement with smoothies. I'm also restricting my calories so I need to be careful what I add because they add up fast! I used: 1 frozen banana, 12 frozen strawberries (close to 1 cup) 1/2 cup 1% milk (I also need more dairy) 1/2 cup water 1.5 scoops of Vanilla Whey Protein. The frozen fruit eliminated the need for ice but adding a little more water kept it from becoming too thick to drink (it was still VERY thick) I would have added a few almonds if I had them, but it would have added quite a few calories. Healthy ones, but calories all the same. I used a Blendtec Blender (similar to what Jamba Juice uses) so it was able to handle all the frozen fruits just fine. Since I only had 1/2 the serving and it was a generous portion, it calculated out under 150 calories and about 10 grams of protein. I might add 2 full scoops next time for a little more protein for about another 20 calories....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Green Power Mojito Smoothie

See how to make an energy boosting smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States